Europe Travel News

US & Several Other Third Countries Removed From Bulgaria’s Red List

The Bulgarian Ministry of Health has published the latest assessment list of risks related to epidemics, according to which entry rules will be tightened for travelers from several EU countries and third countries where the same list has been added to the red category.

According to a press release from the Bulgarian Ministry of Health, the decision to tighten entry rules to Romania, Slovenia, Estonia, Latvia, Singapore, Barbados, and Antigua and Barbuda goes into effect today, October 13.

The decision obliges travelers from these countries to submit the result of a PCR test that was conducted within 72 hours before entering Bulgaria and to quarantine for ten days upon arrival. However, they can get rid of self-isolation by taking a PCR test on the first day of their stay in Bulgaria, reports.

Countries in the red zone in Bulgaria include:

Argentina Bangladesh Belize Bhutan Bolivia Botswana Brazil Chile Colombia Costa Rica Cuba Dominican Republic El Salvador Fiji Georgia Grenada Guatemala India Lithuania Maldives Mongolia Montenegro Myanmar Namibia Nepal Oman Palestine Panama Paraguay Peru Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Serbia Seychelles South Africa Sri Lanka Suriname Turkmenistan United Kingdom Tanzania Uruguay Zambia

On the other hand, arrivals from the USA, Ireland, Israel, Cyprus, Kyrgyzstan, Eswatini, Iran, North Macedonia, Kosovo, Kazakhstan and Malaysia no longer have to quarantine upon arrival as these countries were removed from the red category and were added to the orange. Norway and Austria have also been added to the orange category, where arrivals are required to follow similar entry rules as those from Green Zone countries do.

Moreover, several EU member states such as Denmark, Italy, Spain, Malta, Sweden, France, Monaco, Portugal, Cyprus and Iceland, have been added to the green category, meaning that travelers from there will be subject to less stringent entry rules compared to the red category.

Therefore, entry rules for green and orange countries include a COVID test that is taken either 72 hours before entering the country or immediately after arrival.

However, these rules do not apply to travelers who have been fully vaccinated against COVID, who have recovered from the virus, or EU Digital COVID-19 certificate holders.

Nowadays, the green zone in Bulgaria also consists of Poland, Slovakia, Hungary, Finland, Vatican City, Czech and Luxembourg.

In conclusion, this risk assessment shows a positive result compared to the other, showing that entry rules have been eased for the majority of EU Member States. This means that more travel-friendly guidelines are being implemented, and there are hopes that travel will resume to pre-pandemic levels.

According to the epidemiological situation in Bulgaria, the World Health Organization revealed that 524,333 positive cases were recorded, with only 3,471 cases reported in the past 24 hours.

As of October 13, vaccination rates in Bulgaria remain relatively low with only 24.6 percent of its population having received their first shot of the COVID vaccine, while 23.5 percent have been fully vaccinated, well below the average vaccination rate of 74.5 percent. For the adult population in the EU/EEA countries.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No