Europe Travel News

US Health Agency Urges Americans to Refrain From Travelling to 4 More European Countries

US citizens were advised to refrain from traveling to four European countries – Bosnia and Herzegovina, Romania, Belarus and Moldova – because they have recorded an increase in COVID-19 cases.

According to the Travel Advisory’s latest update, which is revised every week based on epidemiological situations in other countries, the US State Department has changed its travel advice against travel to the above countries from “Level Three: Reconsider Travel” to “Level Four: Do not travel.”

This rating is the highest advisory level, meaning that people who travel to one of these areas have a higher likelihood of contracting COVID-19 disease, reports.

Accordingly, the US Health Agency advises that everyone traveling to one of the four countries should be fully vaccinated against COVID-19 with one of the vaccines approved by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in order to reduce the risk of infection and the development of symptoms.

To date, the US Food and Drug Administration has approved Pfizer/BioNTech (Comirnaty), Moderna (Spikevax), and Johnson & Johnson (Janssen) vaccines.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has issued a Tier 4 Travel Health Notice for Bosnia and Herzegovina due to COVID-19, indicating a very high level of COVID-19 in the country. The State Department notes that your risk of contracting COVID-19 and developing severe symptoms may be lower if you are fully vaccinated with an FDA-approved vaccine. The same advisory was issued for the other three countries as well.

Figures provided by the World Health Organization (WHO) show that since the beginning of the epidemic, Bosnia and Herzegovina has recorded a total of 241,227 cases, of which only 275 have been reported in the past 24 hours.

Belarus identified 559,715 in total, of which 1,943 were reported in the past 24 hours, while Moldova recorded a total of 307,182 cases.

In contrast, Romania recorded 16,743 new cases in the past 24 hours, the highest number among all four countries, bringing the total to 1,382,531.

With the exception of the four European countries, the same travel warning has been issued for Cambodia and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.

In addition, the State Department revealed last week that Americans are now encouraged to refrain from travel to Austria, Croatia and Latvia because the countries have a “do not travel” alert.

On the other hand, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs revealed that the COVID-19 situation has improved in Spain as the country was moved from level four to level three. The Czech Republic, the Faroe Islands, Gabon, South Korea and Uganda have also moved to Level Three from Level Two.

Previously, reported that the United States will allow entry to Europeans who have been vaccinated with WHO approved vaccines. This means that with the exception of vaccines currently recognized by the United States, travelers from the European Union who have been vaccinated with AstraZeneca, including Covishield, Sinopharm and Sinovac, will be allowed to enter US territory once the entry ban is lifted.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No