Schengen Visa News

US Continues to Advise Americans Against Non-Essential Travel to All EU/Schengen Area Countries

Despite the easing of travel restrictions by EU/Schengen area countries and in the world, the US continues to advise its citizens not to take non-essential travel.

The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) regularly updates its travel advice for EU/Schengen area countries. However, no changes have been made since the beginning of the year, reports.

According to data provided by the CDC, all EU/Schengen area countries currently have “Level IV: Do not travel” advice. Some countries were added to the Tier 4 list earlier in 2021, while others were added later during the same year. The full list is as follows:

Austria (since October 2021) Belgium (since November 2021) Bulgaria (since September 2021) Croatia (since October 2021) Cyprus (since December 2021) Czech Republic (since November 2021) Denmark (since November 2021) Estonia (since August 2021) Finland (since December 2021) France (since December 2021) Germany (since November 2021) Greece (since August 2021) Hungary (since November 2021) Iceland (since November 2021) Ireland (since August 2021) Italy (since December 2021) Latvia (since then) October 2021) Lithuania (since September 2021) Luxembourg (since November 2021) Malta (since December 2021) the Netherlands (since November 2021) Norway (since September 2021) Poland (since November 2021) Portugal (since December 2021) Romania ( Since January 2022) Slovakia (since November 2021) Slovenia (since September 2021) Spain (since December 2021) Sweden (since December 2021) Switzerland (since August 2021)

Level 4 advice is the highest advisory level and means that all travelers, especially those who have not been vaccinated or have recovered from the virus, should avoid taking non-essential travel.

However, if someone has to make a trip to one of these countries, the authorities recommend receiving all required doses of the vaccine to avoid any health effects while abroad.

“Your risk of catching COVID-19 and developing severe symptoms may be lower if you are fully vaccinated with an FDA-approved vaccine. Before planning any international travel, please review the CDC’s specific recommendations for fully vaccinated and unvaccinated travelers,” he said. It was stated in the US government statement.

Aside from meeting requirements regarding vaccination status, US citizens planning to travel to the European Union are also advised to check if their destination country has other COVID-19 restrictions.

Currently, all EU/Schengen area countries require travelers from third countries, including the United States, to provide valid proof of vaccination. Aside from that, some require travelers from third countries to provide pre-entry testing before entry as well, even if they have been fully vaccinated or have recovered from the virus.

The US also maintains strict entry rules for travelers from the European Union, more specifically for those who have not been vaccinated.

The Department of Homeland Security announced earlier this year that, starting January 22, only fully vaccinated travelers will be allowed into the United States from land ports of entry and ferry terminals at the borders of Mexico and Canada.

Editor’s Choice:

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No