Europe Travel News

US Advises Its Citizens to Refrain From Travelling to Another 3 European Countries

The US State Department has advised all US citizens to refrain from travel to three other EU/Schengen area countries where their epidemiological situation has worsened.

Adjusting the list of countries Americans are strongly advised to avoid traveling to, the US State Department has issued “Level Four: Do Not Travel” advice for the Czech Republic, Hungary and Iceland, reports.

“The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has issued a Tier 4 Travel Health Notice for the Czech Republic due to COVID-19, which indicates a very high level of COVID-19 in the country. Your risk of catching COVID-19 and developing severe symptoms may be lower if You have been fully vaccinated with an FDA-approved vaccine,” reads the US Department of State’s travel advisory for the three countries.

The travel advisory for the Czech Republic, Hungary and Iceland was issued yesterday, November 15, after these countries reported increased rates of COVID-19 infection.

Figures from the World Health Organization (WHO) show that the Czech Republic identified 5,670 new cases of COVID-19 in the past 24 hours. During the same period, Hungary reported 21,060 new cases, and Iceland reported 149 new cases.

The “Level IV: Do Not Travel” rating is the highest advisory level, meaning that all US citizens, particularly those who have not been vaccinated or have recovered from the virus, have a higher chance of becoming infected when traveling to the country to which the advisory applies.

Therefore, to reduce the risk of infection, the US Centers for Disease Prevention and Control recommends that all people who have to travel to an EU/Schengen area country that has a travel warning against COVID-19 be fully vaccinated with one of the vaccines authorized by the US Food and Drug Administration ( FDA).

The State Department stressed that “your risk of contracting COVID-19 and developing severe symptoms may be lower if you have been fully vaccinated with an FDA-approved vaccine.”

>> Expert advises US citizens not to travel to Europe until spring

Except for the three countries that were only added to the list yesterday, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Estonia, Greece, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Romania, Slovakia, Sweden and Switzerland, they also have “level four: do not travel” advice for now.

This means that all Americans are advised not to take any non-essential travel to these areas.

The United States lifted the entry ban on 26 Schengen-linked countries on November 8. Since that day, vaccinated and recovered travelers have been able to enter the country under relaxed rules.

>> US removes travel ban from Europe: How it all went on day one

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No