Schengen Visa News

UNWTO Considers Suspending Russia’s Membership

The Secretary-General of the World Tourism Organization called for an urgent meeting of the Executive Council to address the issue of the request of Guatemala, Lithuania, Poland, Slovenia and Ukraine to suspend Russia’s membership in the World Tourism Organization.

After consultations between the Secretary-General and the President of the Executive Council of Côte d’Ivoire, the decision was taken.

In a press release issued on March 2, the World Tourism Organization announced that this is the first time in its organization’s history that the Executive Board has responded to a request of this kind, reports.

The session will be held on March 8 in Madrid, Spain.

The World Tourism Organization has fully condemned the actions of the Russian Federation, noting that these actions violate the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine and are contrary to the principles enshrined in the Charter of the United Nations and the Statutes of the World Tourism Organization.

Meanwhile, Article 3 of the Statute of the World Tourism Organization states that the basic principles of

The organization works to “promote and develop tourism to contribute to economic development, international understanding, peace and prosperity, and universal respect and observance of human rights.”

In addition to the institution of the World Tourism Organization, the authorities of the majority of countries of the world apply such measures and sanctions against Russia, but especially sanctions related to travel and tourism.

For example, due to the Russian invasion of Ukraine, Poland imposed a ban on Russian airlines.

Poland’s Prime Minister, Mateusz Morawiecki, also confirmed the decision. He ordered the preparation of a resolution that would lead to the closure of airspace over Poland to Russian airlines.

In this regard, the Baltic states Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania also banned Russia

Airlines from their airspace. According to the authorities in these countries, other countries are supposed to take those similar measures as well.

Besides, the German authorities also announced that they had closed their planes to Russian planes.

Due to the current situation in Ukraine, Finland, Denmark and Sweden have also closed their space to Russian traffic. Neighboring countries like Romania and Moldova have shown their support for Ukraine by imposing restrictions on Russian airlines as well.

In a reciprocal move, Russia has also taken similar measures, banning Russian flights from airlines in Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia and Slovenia.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No