Schengen Visa News

Ukraine Invasion: These European Countries Banned Russian Airlines From Their Airspace

Several European countries have banned Russian airlines from their airspace in response to the Russian invasion of Ukraine.

In addition, Reuters reported that according to an EU official, a Europe-wide ban of Russian airlines could be part of an additional package of sanctions on Moscow that EU foreign ministers will discuss on Sunday, reports.

On February 24, Russia attacked Ukraine, at the order of Russia’s president, who called the invasion of Ukraine a “special military operation” after months of escalating tensions.

Neighboring countries support Ukraine and stop Russian airlines from their airspace

Due to the Russian invasion of Ukraine, Poland, Romania and Moldova imposed a ban on Russian airlines.

Poland’s decision was confirmed by Prime Minister Mateusz Morawiecki.

In this regard, he noted, “I have ordered the preparation of a resolution that will lead to the closure of the airspace over Poland to Russian Airlines.”

Romania and Moldova also imposed restrictions on Russian airlines.

Baltic states unanimously decide to ban Russian airlines

The Baltic states, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania have banned Russian airlines from entering their airspace, according to authorities in those countries who have called on other nations to take similar measures.

“We call on all EU countries to follow suit. The aggressor’s aircraft have no place in democratic airspace. Estonian Prime Minister Kaja Kallas noted in this regard # we stand with Ukraine.

The Latvian government joined Lithuania and Estonia to close its airspace in coordination with each of its two neighboring countries.

In this regard, Lithuanian Transport Minister Marius Skodice noted that “Lithuania joins Latvia and Estonia in banning Russian aircraft from their airspace.”

Nordic countries also impose a ban on Russian Airlines

Finland, Denmark and Sweden also revealed their plans to close their airspace to Russian air traffic due to the current situation in Ukraine.

In addition, the German authorities also announced that they would close their airspace to Russian aircraft due to Russian military action in Ukraine.

According to Germany’s Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure, Transport Minister Volker Wessing “supports the blocking of German airspace to Russian aircraft” and has also “ordered that everything be prepared for this”.

In addition, the German airline Lufthansa canceled incoming flights to Russia, stressing that “flights flying in Russian airspace will soon leave again,” according to RT.

Besides the above countries, Iceland, United Kingdom, Ireland, Bulgaria, Belgium, Czech Republic and Slovenia have also banned Russian airlines from their airspace.

Russia has also taken similar measures, banning entry to Russian flights from airlines in Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Slovenia and others.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No