Schengen Visa News

Travelling to Cyprus This March: COVID-19 Rules Explained

Following the recommendation of the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC), the Cypriot government has eased the national entry rules and restrictions imposed due to COVID-19.

At present, Cyprus applies a color-coded system based on ECDC maps, with countries in red and dark red being included in the red list; A green list consisting of yellow and green countries on ECDC maps and gray representing the three countries individually assessed by Cypriot authorities, reports.

Entry requirements for travelers from EU/EEA countries

EU COVID-19 Digital Certificate holders (EUDCC) and, therefore, coming from EU member states, are only allowed to enter Cyprus by providing the completed Cypriot passport within 48 hours prior to departure.

EUDCC is given to travelers who have been vaccinated with one of the vaccines authorized by the World Health Organization (WHO) or for those who have recovered from the virus in the last 180 days.

More specifically, EUDCC holders are required to submit one of the following documents to enter Cyprus:

Vaccination certificate indicating that the traveler has completed a full vaccination program with one of these vaccines: AstraZeneca, (Vaxzervia, COVISHIELD, SKBio), Pfizer/BioNTech, Moderna, Johnson & Johnson/Janssen, Sputnik V (Gam-COVID-Vac), Sinopharm (BBIBPCOVID). -19), Sinovac (CoronaVac), Covaxin, Novavax Nuvaxovid COVID-19 and Sputnik Light (the latter only as a booster dose in the baseline vaccination scheme) A refund certificate valid ten to 180 days after a positive PCR or Antigen virus test negative test result was taken before 72 or 24 hours from departure, respectively

Fully vaccinated and reinstated passengers are allowed in Cyprus regardless of their country of origin classification in the color coding system.

On the other hand, the color-coded system is strictly applicable to unvaccinated travelers. Currently, all EU member states are in the red category, which means that non-vaccinated entrants to Cyprus will be required to submit the following:

Completed Cypriot passport within 48 hours prior to departure as a result of a PCR test conducted 72 hours prior to departure or a rapid antigen test conducted 24 hours prior to arrival.

The post-arrival test can be taken at Larnaca airport for 15 euros or at Paphos airport for 19 euros, and the traveler will get the results via the digital platform after a few hours. These rules apply to all entrants over the age of 12.

Entry conditions for travelers from third world countries

EUDCC equivalent document holders from third countries are allowed to enter Cyprus. These documents are recognized as valid if they are issued by the authorities in the following countries:

Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Benin, Cabo Verde, El Salvador, Faroe Islands, Georgia, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Panama, Serbia, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, Tunisia, Togo and Turkey Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Crown Dependencies (Jersey, Guernsey and Isle of Man) and Uruguay.

However, unvaccinated travelers from these countries are required to follow the gray category rules, which means that the following requirements apply to them:

Completed Cypriot passport within 48 hours prior to departure as a result of a PCR test conducted 72 hours prior to departure or a rapid antigen test conducted 24 hours prior to arrival. With the possibility of reducing the quarantine time on even days by performing a PCR test on the same day

Furthermore, travel from gray countries, which includes all countries except EU member states, is only allowed for Cypriot citizens, residents and their close families, EU citizens, persons allowed to enter under the Vienna Convention and third-country nationals, with a special entry permit issued by the government. .

The third countries on the red list have to follow less strict rules than the gray categories. In addition, arrivals from the red countries must submit a pre-departure test and a post-arrival test according to the same time frame set for the gray countries.

The Red List for Cyprus consists of: Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Bahrain, Belarus, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Egypt, Georgia, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Jordan, South Korea, Kuwait, Lebanon, Macau, New Zealand and Oman. Peru, Qatar, Russia, Rwanda, Serbia, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States and Uruguay.

Currently, Saudi Arabia and China fall into the green category, which exempts travelers from these countries from all requirements, except for the Cyprus flight permit form, which must be provided by all arrivals, regardless of vaccination status or country of origin.

Local COVID-19 Restrictions

Mask use is required for all indoor spaces, including transportation such as buses, trains, and planes. However, this requirement does not apply to those who eat food and those who exercise in gyms.

Furthermore, travelers need to present a Safe Pass – proof of vaccination, recovery or testing to enter nightclubs, discos, restaurants, cafes and other facilities.

>> Cyprus lifts entry rules for fully vaccinated and recovered travelers

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No