Europe Travel News

Travelling From EU to UK: Rules Applying to EU Digital COVID-19 Certificate Holders Explained

As vaccination campaigns continue to be implemented and the world gradually reopens to travel, the British government is introducing less stringent entry rules, especially for those who have been fully vaccinated against COVID-19.

This works best to the advantage of Europeans, who currently have the highest adult COVID-19 vaccine uptake rates in the world, with 74.7 percent of the adult population in the entire EU/EEA countries being vaccinated, reports.

Thus, all citizens coming from one of the 27 member states of the European Union, the four affiliated Schengen states – Switzerland, Iceland, Norway and Liechtenstein – as well as the small states of Monaco, Vatican City and San Marino, who have been fully vaccinated and thus are EU Digital COVID-19 holders are eligible to enter the UK without entry requirements.

Travelers from Switzerland are required to submit an EU DCC to show that they have received a full course of a Swissmedic-approved vaccine.

The document is issued to all who have been fully vaccinated with vaccines approved by the European Medicines Agency (EMA), namely:

Oxford / AstraZeneca Pfizer BioNTech Moderna Janssen

The vaccination is only valid 14 days after receiving the second dose. Furthermore, a combination of EMA approved vaccines, such as Oxford/AstraZeneca and Moderna or Pfizer, is also considered a complete vaccination.

“The formulations of these vaccines, such as AstraZeneca Covishield, AstraZeneca Vaxzevria and Moderna Takeda, also qualify as approved vaccines,” the UK’s official website for the coronavirus guidelines reads.

Furthermore, travelers from the European Union can enter the UK if they have previously contracted coronavirus, as EUDCC gives them the right to travel at least 30 days after they became infected.

In addition to the EU COVID-19 certification, British authorities recognize vaccine certifications that are usually issued in third countries, such as Albania, Andorra, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Moldova, Georgia and Serbia.

Furthermore, Ukraine, North Macedonia and Turkey are also eligible to enter the UK, as the two countries successfully joined the EUDCC three months ago.

Vaccine certifications must be issued by the national public health authority and must be available in English, French or Spanish. Moreover, this document should include the full name of the holder, his date of birth, the brand and manufacturer of the given vaccine. In addition, the vaccination history of both doses and the issuer of the certificate must be included in the document.

Currently, the member states of the European Union have provided about 583,435,828 vaccines to their residents, while 743,639,343 have been distributed to these countries, as revealed by the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC).

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No