Europe Travel News

Travellers From Spain, Malta, Vatican City & 15 Other Areas Can Currently Enter Latvia Restriction-Free

Latvian authorities have announced that entry rules will remain relaxed for another week for all travelers from Spain, Malta, the Vatican City State and many other countries outside the EU/Schengen area.

Based on the latest update by the Latvian authorities, the above three EU countries are currently placed on the green list with less than 75 cases of infection per 100,000 inhabitants in the past 14 days.

On average, Spain has reported 49.0 positive cases over the past two weeks, and Malta has reported 71.5 cases. In contrast, the Vatican State had no new positive cases during the same period, reports.

With the exception of these three countries, travelers from several non-EU countries are also included in Latvia’s Green List.

The green category currently includes all three of these countries: Qatar, South Korea, Colombia, New Zealand, Argentina, Peru, Bahrain, United Arab Emirates, Namibia, Kuwait, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia and Taiwan. The list also includes Hong Kong and Macau, but these two regions are subject to reciprocity.

In line with the current entry rules applied by Latvia, all travelers from Green List countries are allowed to enter without restrictions as long as they present a valid vaccination or recovery certificate.

This means that all who have been vaccinated or have recovered from the virus can enter Latvia without having to undergo testing before or after arrival. In addition, they are also exempted from the requirement of self-isolation.

In addition, authorities have made clear that non-vaccinated and non-exempt travelers from Spain, Malta, the Vatican State or any other green country can also enter Latvia under relaxed rules.

Non-vaccinated and non-exempt travelers from Green List countries are allowed to travel to Latvia for non-essential purposes provided they undergo a PCR test within 72 hours prior to entry or a rapid antigen test within 48 hours prior to arrival.

At the same time, through the same update, it was confirmed that all other 31 EU/Schengen area countries are currently classified in the orange Latvia category.

Vaccinated and repatriated travelers from countries included in the orange list are exempted from all entry restrictions when traveling to Latvia. However, those who have not been vaccinated or recovered from the virus must take a COVID-19 test and self-isolate for ten days.

However, if a negative COVID-19 test is submitted on the seventh day, everyone can end the quarantine period prematurely.

“The time for self-isolation can be reduced if the test is repeated on the seventh day and it is negative. The test result must be recorded in the test certificate,” explained the Latvian Center for Disease Prevention and Control.

>> Traveling to Latvia during COVID-19: What you need to know

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No