Europe Travel News

Travellers From France & Several Regions of Italy Are Now Subject to Additional Entry Rules in Spain

Travelers from France are now subject to additional entry rules when traveling to Spain as the country has been placed on the latter’s high risk list.

In last week’s update, only some regions of France were part of the list. However, since the epidemiological situation in the country has worsened, its entire territory is now part of the high-risk list.

According to figures provided by the World Health Organization (WHO), France reported 12,504 new cases of COVID-19 in the past 24 hours, which represents increased rates compared to other weeks when France was one of the safest countries in the European Union.

Aside from France, three regions of Italy – Basilicata, Lombardy and Piedmont – were recently added to the high-risk list, reports.

Now the full list of Italian regions included in the high risk category includes Calabria, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Marche, Province of Bolzano, Abruzzo, Campania, Emilia-Romagna, Lazio, Liguria, Trento, Puglia, Sicily, Tuscany, Umbria and Veneto.

Based on the current entry rules applied by Spain, all persons entering its territory from France or any of the Italian regions mentioned above must provide proof of complete vaccination against COVID-19 with one of the vaccines accepted from travel in Spain.

>> What COVID-19 vaccines are approved for travel to Spain

Those who present a valid recovery certificate are also allowed to enter Spain as long as the required time frame is met between the last positive test and the date of entry.

People who do not hold either certificate must submit a negative coronavirus test result to be allowed to enter the country. Furthermore, regardless of their vaccination status, everyone is required to fill out a health monitoring form.

Similar rules apply to the other 26 EU/Schengen area countries which will continue to be part of the list of severely affected areas until November 21.

Other countries that fall under the high risk list of Spain are Germany, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Norway, and the Netherlands Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and Sweden.

At the same time, the Spanish authorities have also updated the list of third countries that are epidemiologically safe. Singapore and Ukraine have been removed from this list.

The list of safe third countries now consists of Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, South Korea, Jordan, Kuwait, Namibia, New Zealand, Peru, Qatar, Rwanda, Taiwan, Uruguay, the United Arab Emirates, and the administrative regions of Macau and Hong Kong (subject to reciprocity).

>> Traveling to Spain during COVID-19: Here’s what you need to know

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No