Schengen Visa News

Travel to Germany Now Almost Impossible for Those Unvaccinated

Germany’s leaders have agreed to impose new, tougher restrictions in the country, in an effort to prevent the further spread of the coronavirus, particularly the Omicron variant, by targeting people who are not immune.

The decision was made on December 2, and it bars people who have not been vaccinated or cured of COVID-19 from access to several venues, such as cinemas, theaters and restaurants.

According to the Federal Government’s Press and Information Office, the decision was made amid an increase in coronavirus cases in many regions of Germany, which has pushed hospitals in many parts of the country to their limits.

“In order to reduce the number of infections again, the federal and state governments adopted the revised rules on December 2, which establish uniform minimum standards nationwide. Particularly affected countries will continue to work with state regulations that exceed these minimum standards,” the press office notes.

The new rules make it nearly impossible for those who have not received the vaccination to travel to Germany, even if they qualify to enter the country, because they will not be eligible for many activities, including dining in restaurants.

Currently, only travelers from countries classified in the virus infection zone category are prohibited from entering Germany, with the exception of German citizens, regardless of their vaccination status. Since November 26, the following countries have become part of the category of virus variant regions in Germany:

Botswana Eswatini Lesotho Malawi Mozambique Namibia Zimbabwe South Africa

On the other hand, travelers from high-risk areas are allowed to enter the country even for non-essential purposes, except that they are subject to various restrictions, according to the status of vaccination and recovery.

Those who have not been vaccinated against the virus and who have not fallen ill from COVID-19 at any time in the past 180 days are subject to testing and quarantine requirements. Vaccinated travelers and those who have recovered from COVID-19 are not subject to self-isolation requirements.

Currently, the list of high-risk areas includes the majority of countries in the world, such as Belgium, Estonia, Ireland, Lithuania, Poland, Russia, Slovenia, Turkey, and others. Only today, the German Institute for Disease Prevention and Control Robert Koch Institute added Jordan, Liechtenstein, Mauritius, Poland and Switzerland to the same list and removed Uzbekistan, Thailand and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines from them.

>> Germany classifies 8 countries as virus changing regions, removes 7 from high risk list

Travelers from safe areas not included in high-risk categories or virus variants can enter without quarantine or double-testing requirements.

However, those arriving in the country, from both high-risk areas and areas left off this list, who have not been vaccinated or recovered from COVID-19, are prohibited from entering places such as restaurants, museums, major sporting events, clubs, and more.

The same must carry evidence of negative test results for a rapid coronavirus test taken in the past 24 hours when using local public transportation, regional trains, and long-distance trains.

>> Who can travel to Germany amid COVID-19 and what are the rules

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No