Schengen Visa News

Travel: EU Recognises Vaccination Certificates Issued by Cabo Verde, Lebanon & UAE

Residents of Cabo Verde, Lebanon and the United Arab Emirates who have been vaccinated against the coronavirus in the required doses and who hold a vaccination certificate issued by the relevant authorities in their country can soon enter EU member states without restrictions.

Something like this could happen soon as the European Commission recognized vaccination certificates issued by these three countries as equivalent to the EU’s COVID digital certificate in three separate decisions issued on 10 December. However, it is up to the member states when they want to start accepting the degrees of these three countries.

“As a result, the three countries will be linked to the EU system, and their certificates will be accepted under the same conditions as the EU COVID digital certificate,” a Commission press release explains, adding that decisions become effective on the same day they are adopted.

The Commission also explains that Cabo Verde, Lebanon and the United Arab Emirates authorities have also agreed to allow EU citizens with a COVID digital certificate to enter the EU.

Commenting on the decisions, EU Commissioner for Justice Didier Reynders confirmed that more than 55 countries and territories on five continents have joined the system.

The EU’s digital COVID certificate is unique, which is why 55 countries and territories on five continents have joined the system so far with over 750 million certificates issued. Even if we are having a tough time with the variants of COVID-19, we need the testimony; He has served in the past and will continue to work in the future to help people travel safely,” the commissioner said.

Travelers from all three of these countries, as well as 52 other countries, must check if their vaccine is approved in the EU/Schengen country they are traveling to in order to be eligible to enter that country.

Vaccine viability can be checked with the Vaccine Check Tool developed by VisaGuide.World, which helps travelers check if the vaccine they have been immunized with is recognized by their destination country.

Apart from Cabo Verde, Lebanon and the United Arab Emirates, vaccine certificates issued by the following third countries are also recognized as equivalent to an EU COVID digital certificate:

Albania Armenia Faroe Islands Georgia Israel Moldova Morocco North Macedonia Panama Serbia Singapore Turkey Togo Ukraine

The 26 Schengen Area countries, the EU member states that are not part of the Schengen Area – Ireland, Croatia, Romania, Bulgaria and Cyprus – are connected to the system, as well as the small European states of Andorra, Monaco, Vatican City and San Marino are also part of it.

Editor’s Choice:

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No