Schengen Visa News

These 3 EU/EEA Countries Have Already Removed All COVID-19 Entry Rules

After assessing the current situation of COVID-19 and concluding that travel restrictions no longer play an important role in preventing the spread of the virus, two countries in the European Economic Area – Iceland and Norway – and one country in the European Union – Slovenia – decided to lift their entry measures entirely.

Icelandic authorities announced last month that all travelers, regardless of vaccination and recovery status, would be able to enter the country without having to follow any restrictions.

“All COVID-19 measures at the Icelandic border are now over. Consequently, no COVID-19 prevention measures will be taken at the border, regardless of whether individuals have been vaccinated or not. Please note that visa requirements remain unchanged. Icelandic authorities said.

Aside from scrapping travel restrictions applicable to inbound travelers, Iceland has also lifted all of its domestic COVID-19 restrictions, reports.

Similar to Iceland, Norway has already lifted all entry rules. Since February 12, all travelers, even those who have not been vaccinated, cured or tested, have been able to travel to Norway without worrying about entry procedures.

“No testing, no quarantine, no registration! As of February 12, 2022, all COVID-19 entry requirements for all travelers to Norway have been lifted,” the Norwegian authorities said in a statement.

In addition, Norway has also lifted all remaining national bases for COVID-19. Travelers, as well as citizens of the country, are no longer wearing masks or following social distancing rules. Also, social and cultural life returned to normal.

Other restrictions have also been lifted. You do not need to wear a face mask anywhere in the country, and social distancing rules have been lifted. Now social and cultural life is back to normal: all bars, restaurants and museums are open, and you can attend all kinds of events, such as concerts and conferences,” added the Norwegian authorities.

Likewise, Slovenia has ended its restrictions as well. Travelers can now enter the territory of Slovenia without having to present a vaccination, a refund certificate or a negative test result.

As of February 19, 2022, restrictions imposed on Covid-19 are no longer in effect when entering Slovenia. This means that the RVT case (recovered/vaccinated/tested) no longer has to be met at the border, and travelers will no longer be required to quarantine at home,” Slovenian authorities said earlier in February.

Moreover, the country has also abolished the local COVID-19 restrictions, thus reverting back to its pre-pandemic state.

Differently from the above three countries, other EU/EEA countries continue to enforce COVID-19 entry rules.

>> March 2022: Explanation of COVID-19 travel rules for EU/Schengen countries

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No