Europe Travel News

Switzerland Lifts Quarantine Requirement for Estonia – Keeps in Place Restrictions for Other Countries

Switzerland’s Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) has once again updated the list of countries most affected by the COVID-19 pandemic. After the new update, it was announced that the country had decided to remove Estonia from the high risk list for coronavirus.

This means that all arrivals from Estonia will no longer be required to follow quarantine requirements when entering Switzerland, reports.

However, Estonian citizens and other people traveling from Estonia to Switzerland must still submit a negative COVID-19 test result obtained within 72 hours of arrival.

In the event that travelers do not get a negative test result, they must undergo the test procedure in Switzerland using a PCR or rapid antigen test.

All children under 12 years of age are exempt from the test requirement.

“Children under the age of 12 never have to show a negative corona test when entering the country. You are exempt from the duty to test while on board and to be tested at the Swiss border,” the Federal Office of Public Health said in a statement.

In the previous update, Switzerland canceled quarantine requirements for arrivals from Croatia, Iran, Luxembourg, Turkey, Cyprus and some regions of France, Germany and Italy.

Except for Estonia being removed from the high risk list, no other changes were made to this week’s update.

It was emphasized again that arrivals from a country on the high-risk list must remain in quarantine for ten days upon entering Switzerland. The self-isolation requirement applies to all travelers from areas of risk for coronavirus and various viruses, including travelers who have been vaccinated and those who present a negative test result certificate.

However, the self-isolation period can be shortened if a negative PCR or rapid antigen test result is presented on day 7.

The list of countries with the currently worrisome COVID-19 variant includes:

Brazil India Canada Nepal South America United Kingdom

Other countries on the high risk list are Egypt, Andorra, Argentina, Bahrain, Belgium, Cabo Verde, Chile, Costa Rica, Georgia, Colombia, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Maldives, Mexico, Mongolia, Netherlands, Paraguay, Sweden, Seychelles, Slovenia and Tanzania and Uruguay.

With the exception of the countries listed above, the following regions in France are also part of the list of Switzerland severely affected by COVID-19:

Central Val-de-Loire Hauts-de-France Ile-de-France Normandy Region Pays-de-la-Loire

Earlier, the Swiss authorities announced that the country plans to ease entry restrictions for travelers from third countries, provided they have been vaccinated against COVID-19.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No