Europe Travel News

Sweden to Remove Entry Ban for Argentina, Colombia, Namibia & Peru

Shortly after the Council of the European Union issued a recommendation to lift the entry ban on arrivals from Argentina, Colombia, Namibia and Peru, the Swedish authorities announced that the four countries would now be placed on their list of exemptions.

“The government has decided to make an amendment to the temporary ban on entry to Sweden. The amendment concerns the exemption of residents of a particular non-EU country and is in line with the recent EU Council recommendation for EU member states,” the Swedish government said in a statement.

The decision to remove the entry ban for these four countries was announced today, November 2, and will take effect from next Monday, November 8, reports.

Thus, in line with the new announcement, travelers from Argentina, Colombia, Namibia and Peru will soon be able to enter Sweden for travel purposes without being subject to strict restrictions. However, they still need to follow certain requirements.

Despite the removal of entry bans for these areas, travelers from the above third countries are still required to submit a negative COVID-19 test upon entry.

The government emphasized that “foreign nationals exempt from the entry ban, such as those residing in Argentina, Colombia, Namibia and Peru, are still required to provide proof of a negative COVID-19 test result upon entry to Sweden.”

In addition, every traveler arriving in Sweden must present a valid vaccination certificate, which must indicate that its holder has been fully vaccinated with one of the eight vaccines recognized by Sweden for travel.

>> What are the recognized COVID-19 vaccines for travel to Sweden

Sweden recognizes certificates of return as well, as long as the document proves that no more than six months have passed since the holder last received a positive test.

Aside from the newly added countries, travelers arriving in Sweden from Australia, Bahrain, Canada, Chile, Hong Kong, Jordan, Kuwait, Macau, New Zealand, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Ukraine, the United Arab Emirates, and Paraguay are also exempt from the entry ban.

And the Swedish authorities revealed, earlier, that the country decided to extend the ban on entry to other third countries that do not fall within its list of exemptions.

The entry ban currently announced by Sweden will only remain in place until October 31. However, after taking into account the COVID-19 situation, arrivals from non-exempt third countries will not be allowed to enter Sweden until January 31, 2022. The ban may be extended even beyond January if required.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No