Schengen Visa News

Sweden to Reintroduce Entry Ban on Residents of Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Brunei, Japan & Serbia

The Swedish government has decided to ban entry to all persons traveling from Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Brunei, Japan and Serbia from the list of epidemiologically safe third countries.

The Swedish Ministry of Justice has announced the decision to ban entry to the six countries, and it will go into effect next Monday, September 20, reports.

“The government has adopted amendments to the temporary ban on entry to Sweden. The statement of the Ministry of Justice said that the decision means the re-imposition of the ban on entry from a number of countries in accordance with the updated recommendations of the Council of the European Union on travel to EU member states.

This means that from Monday, only travelers arriving in Sweden for absolutely essential purposes can enter from Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Brunei, Japan and Serbia. Essential travel is permitted only for those with a Swedish residence permit, travelers passing through the territory of Sweden, healthcare workers, travelers carrying out essential duties, healthcare and medical researchers, elderly employees, among others.

Soon vaccinated travelers may be exempted from the entry ban, but an official statement on the matter has not yet been made.

On the other hand, the same ministry announced that arrivals from Uruguay will no longer be prevented from entering the country.

“This means that the entry ban will be re-imposed on persons residing in countries removed from the list, while persons residing in Uruguay will generally be exempted from the entry ban,” the ministry added.

Thus, Uruguayan citizens who plan to visit Sweden will now be allowed to enter the country provided they provide proof of recovery or vaccination against COVID-19.

An entry ban on non-essential travel for those arriving from a country outside Sweden was imposed in March last year due to the COVID-19 outbreak in the country and in the world. Initially, the ban was to remain in effect for only 30 days. However, it has been continuously extended since then.

Earlier in August, reported that Sweden had decided to extend the entry ban for third-country nationals for another two months until the end of October.

Based on figures provided by the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC), Sweden has managed to vaccinate 76.3 percent of its population of 10.23 million so far.

>> Travel to Sweden: current rules and restrictions imposed due to COVID-19

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No