Schengen Visa News

Sweden to Abolish All Entry Restrictions on Travellers from EU/EEA Countries on February 9

From Wednesday February 9, 2022, travelers from the rest of the European Union and the Schengen area will be able to enter Sweden completely without restrictions, including unvaccinated and non-recovered travelers.

The decision was announced through a joint press statement issued by the Ministries of Foreign Affairs and Justice, today, February 7, and was taken during an extraordinary government meeting held on the same day.

“As part of the ongoing work to phase out infection control measures against COVID-19, the government has decided today to lift all restrictions on entry to Sweden from Nordic countries and other countries in the European Union and the European Economic Area,” the press release read.

It also explains that the decision was made based on an assessment by the Swedish Public Health Agency that entry restrictions are no longer a proportionate infection control measure.

The ban has been in place since February 2021, reports.

The move means that travelers from EU countries and the Schengen area no longer need to provide an EU digital COVID certificate or other proof of vaccination against COVID-19, proof of recovery from the virus or negative test results.

According to today’s press release, the removal of entry restrictions is a huge relief, particularly for those who live and work in border areas, as well as for the Swedish Police Service, as the latter no longer needs to check COVID-19 certificates at the border.

On the same day, on February 9, Sweden is set to remove other COVID-19 measures within its territory.

Confirming that the situation is stable enough to begin phasing out infection control measures, the government has decided to remove several measures, including:

Removing participant limits and social distancing requirements at gatherings and public events. Eliminate maximum group sizes in restaurants, bars, and other eating and drinking establishments. Passengers on long-distance public transport are no longer required to sit and wear face masks. The requirement for a minimum square meter per person for shopping malls and other places for cultural and leisure activities, etc., has been removed.

Although these measures have been rescinded, the government has confirmed that entry bans on travel from third countries remain in place.

The government notes that “the entry ban remains in place for these travelers (currently in effect until March 31, 2022), in accordance with EU recommendations regarding entry from third countries.”

Sweden currently allows entry only for travelers from third countries who can provide proof of a COVID-19 vaccination issued by one of the following countries: Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Cabo Verde, El Salvador, Faroe Islands, Georgia, Guernsey and an island. Man, Israel, Jersey, Lebanon, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Panama, San Marino, Serbia, Singapore, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Togo and Tunisia.

Travelers from Bahrain, Chile, Colombia, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Kuwait, Macau, New Zealand, Peru, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, Taiwan, the United Arab Emirates and Uruguay can also enter the country, in addition to many classifications.

>> Sweden limits the validity of vaccination certificates to 180 days

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No