Schengen Visa News

Sweden Removes Pre-Entry Testing Requirement

The Swedish government has decided to abolish the pre-entry test requirement that was previously imposed on all people, regardless of their vaccination status and country of origin.

According to the latest press release from the Swedish Ministry of Justice, starting from January 21, the requirement to submit a negative COVID-19 test result taken within 48 hours during arrival will no longer apply.

The decision follows a request from the Swedish Public Health Agency, reports.

“Travelers are no longer seen as presenting a particular risk that would affect the spread of the Omicron variant in Sweden. For this reason, the specific requirement for a negative COVID-19 result from a test performed within 48 hours of arrival in Sweden is no longer It is considered a relative measure,” the ministry statement said.

However, it has been emphasized that all people arriving in Sweden from EU and EEA countries are still required to present an EU digital COVID certificate upon entry.

This means that EU/EEA travelers can submit a document proving that they have been vaccinated, tested or recovered from the virus. The requirement to submit one of the certificates that fall under the EU COVID Pass applies to all persons over the age of 18.

However, it has been noted that some exemptions apply, particularly to those traveling through Sweden.

“To make it easier for people traveling between Bornholm and another part of Denmark via Sweden, they will continue to be exempt from COVID certification requirements,” the ministry explained.

With regard to travelers arriving in Sweden from a country outside the EU/EEA, it has been clarified that they need to follow the same rules as European travelers, provided that their COVID-19 certificates are recognized by the Swedish authorities.

On the other hand, those who hold a certificate that is not recognized in Sweden are subject to an entry ban, which means that they are not currently allowed into the country.

Sweden recognizes vaccination cards issued in Montenegro, Taiwan, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay

Through the same press release, the Swedish authorities announced that from January 21, the country will recognize vaccination cards issued in Montenegro, Taiwan, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.

This means that all persons who hold a vaccination card issued in one of the above-mentioned countries will not be subject to an entry ban once the new decision enters into force.

In addition, they will no longer be required to submit a pre-entry test to be taken prior to arrival.

“According to the decision of the European Commission, vaccination certificates issued in these countries are considered equivalent to the EU digital COVID certificate,” the ministry said.

Editor’s Choice:

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No