Europe Travel News

Sweden Permits Entry for Vaccinated Travellers From US & Several Other Third Countries Starting From Next Friday

Swedish authorities decided to lift the entry ban on vaccinated travelers from the United States in a reciprocal move, after the latter was set to open its borders soon for vaccinated arrivals from 33 countries, including here Swedes.

The Swedish Ministry of Justice announced, in a press release published on October 28, that travelers with vaccination certificates issued by the US authorities will be exempted from the entry ban, starting next Friday, November 5.

Sweden enjoys close and good relations with the United States and cooperates on important matters in many areas. So travel between Sweden and the United States is of great importance in many different ways,” the press release states.

It also claims that since the United States plans to allow vaccinated travelers from the 26 Schengen areas into its territory from November 8, “it is therefore very important that vaccinated travelers from the United States can travel more easily to Sweden.”

The United States announced its decision to reopen its borders to travelers from the Schengen area, Ireland and the United Kingdom on September 20. It was recently revealed that borders will open in the second week of November for all travelers who have been vaccinated with one. One of the vaccines approved by the World Health Organization (WHO).

With regard to the abolition of the entry ban, the Government of Sweden has also decided to recognize vaccination certificates issued by the three islands listed below, thus allowing entry to their holders:

Guernsey Island Man Jersey

“This is complementary to the government’s October 7 decision regarding UK vaccine certifications,” the Department of Justice explained in a press release.

On October 7, the Swedish government decided to allow entry to all travelers from the UK, including tourists, given that they had been vaccinated against the Corona virus. Quarantine and on-access testing requirements for the same have also been removed.

Since September 24, immune travelers from Albania, Andorra, Faroe Islands, Israel, Morocco, Monaco and Panama have been allowed to enter Sweden under the same conditions as EU nationals.

Whereas, last Thursday, the Swedish authorities extended the ban on entry to Sweden from countries outside the European Union / European Economic Area, for which the entry ban had not previously been lifted, until January 31, 2022. The entry ban on travelers coming from countries within the European Union has been extended The EU/EEA also for those who refuse a COVID-19 test and have not been vaccinated against the virus, have not recovered from the disease.

>> Travel to Sweden: current rules and restrictions imposed due to COVID-19

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No