Schengen Visa News

Sweden Lifts Restrictions for Arrivals From Japan – Extends Entry Ban for Other Third-Country Travellers

In line with the latest recommendation from the Council of the European Union to the member states of the European Union, the Swedish government has decided to lift the entry ban for travelers entering the country from Japan.

This means that residents of Japan will now be exempted from the Swedish entry ban. However, they must still provide a negative COVID-19 test result upon arrival, reports.

The Ministry of Justice announced the decision, which indicated through a press release that the changes related to lifting the entry ban for residents of Japan will come into effect on June 14.

With the exception of Japan, travelers from the following third countries are also exempt from the travel ban:

Australia New Zealand Rwanda Singapore South Korea Thailand Israel

In addition, the entry ban does not apply to people from EU/EEA countries as well as Switzerland. The ban also does not apply to permanent residents of Sweden or those who hold a residence permit.

Denmark, Finland, Iceland and Norway were recently removed from Sweden’s entry ban list. This means that people from these countries can enter the country for non-essential purposes and are no longer required to provide a negative COVID-19 test result upon arrival in Sweden.

However, all people entering Sweden from abroad need to undergo screening and remain in self-isolation for seven days after their arrival. However, those who have been fully vaccinated against COVID-19 and are traveling from the EU/EEA and other countries exempted from the entry ban are not required to be quarantined.

The negative test result requirement does not apply to children under 18 years of age.

Currently, Sweden imposes a travel ban on all non-essential travel from most countries outside the European Union. According to the Swedish authorities, the ban will last until August 31, 2021.

“The temporary entry ban came into effect on March 19 and was initially applied for 30 days. It was subsequently extended based on recommendations of the European Commission and the Council of the European Union. The government statement said that the recent decision to extend the ban on entry to Sweden from countries outside the EU/EEA The European Union means that the entry ban now applies until August 31, 2021.

The ban on entry for arrivals from third countries has been extended as recommended by the European Union due to continuing uncertainty about the COVID-19 pandemic and its surges.

Moreover, the decision to maintain such measures was supported by the Public Health Agency of Sweden, which indicated that entry restrictions should remain in place for travelers from third countries, where the start of vaccination against the Corona virus has been slow.

Previously, the Swedish government decided to extend its internal border controls until November 2021 in order to enhance national security and protect the country from any terrorist attack.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No