Europe Travel News

Sweden Extends Entry Ban for Third Countries, Drops Entry Restrictions for Arrivals From US

The Swedish government has announced that due to uncertainty regarding the COVID-19 disease and its transmission, the entry ban previously imposed on arrivals from countries outside the European Union and the European Economic Area will be extended.

Last month, it was announced that the ban would only continue until October 31, but after considering the current situation of the Coronavirus, those coming from third countries will not be allowed to enter until January 31, 2022. However, the ban may be extended again after January if the situation requires it , reports.

“The ban on entry to Sweden from countries outside the EU/EEA will be extended until January 31, 2022. This entry ban is based on a recommendation of the Council of the European Union valid indefinitely. The extension is therefore in line with the recommendation,” reads the Swedish Ministry of Justice statement.

However, the authorities stressed that the entry ban does not apply to people on the exemption list. This means that all travelers with a certificate of vaccination issued by the so-called “approving country” are allowed to enter Sweden without being required to submit a negative COVID-19 test result upon entry.

Sweden currently allows entry to several third countries, including Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, Israel, Switzerland, Turkey, Singapore, and others.

>> Travel to Sweden: current rules and restrictions imposed due to COVID-19

Moreover, the same department announced that from November 5, fully vaccinated travelers from the United States will be exempted from entry bans and testing requirements.

Bearing in mind that the United States intends to allow entry to fully vaccinated travelers from all Schengen area countries from November 8, Swedish authorities have concluded that it is also important that vaccinated American travelers travel more easily to Sweden.

In addition, the Swedish government has also decided to remove entry restrictions for travelers arriving in the country from Guernsey, Isle of Man and Jersey, provided they hold a valid vaccination certificate.

Regarding arrivals from countries within the EU/EEA, the authorities revealed the extension of the ban for another month until November 30.

The ministry noted that “the restrictions should remain in place for a longer period, especially since some European countries have recently experienced an increase in transmission.”

The extension of this ban means that European travelers must present a digital EU COVID-19 certificate or other equivalent document indicating that they have been vaccinated, recovered or tested in order to be allowed to enter Sweden.

Travelers from Denmark, Finland, Iceland and Norway are exempt from entry restrictions.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No