Europe Travel News

Sweden Bans Travellers From BiH & Moldova, Permits Entry From 3 Other Third Countries

The Swedish government has confirmed that citizens of Bosnia and Herzegovina, as well as citizens of Moldova, will be denied entry to Sweden, except in cases of emergency, as the latter has excluded these territories from the COVID-19 exemption list.

At the same time, authorities in Sweden announced that Chile, Kuwait and Rwanda will be added to the list, meaning that travelers from these regions who plan to enter Sweden will be subject to exemptions in connection with the new entry rules, reports.

According to the Swedish government, this decision will be implemented on October 4 and will remain in effect until October 31, 2021.

Since the start of the pandemic, Sweden has reported a total of 1,152,027 cases of COVID-19 and a total of 14,856 deaths, based on figures published by the World Health Organization (WHO). In addition, the same source shows that 854 people have tested positive for the virus in the past 24 hours.

Because of these numbers, authorities in Sweden have kept several precautions in place, including entry bans and other restrictions since the beginning of the pandemic, in order to stop the spread of the virus.

On March 19, 2020, the Swedish government imposed an entry ban for travelers from other countries that was initially set to remain in place for only 30 days. However, due to the COVID-19 situation in Sweden and other countries, the government has extended these measures several times.

However, the entry ban will not apply to all travelers, as some specific categories will be exempted, according to a recent recommendation by the Council of the European Union to member states.

“An entry ban means that a foreign national who leaves a country other than the EEA countries or Switzerland who travels to Sweden will be refused entry to Sweden and will be turned away. However, there are a number of exceptions to the ban. However, travelers are usually required to provide a negative result. to test for COVID-19 even if they are covered by one of the exemptions,” the statement released by the country’s government.

International citizens planning to travel to Sweden from Bosnia and Herzegovina and Moldova from October 4 will only be allowed to enter Sweden if they fall under the exemption category. Exemptions include international citizens with a Swedish residence permit, people who need to enter Sweden for any emergency reasons, and those who can submit a negative coronavirus test result.

For international travelers traveling to Sweden from Chile, Kuwait and Rwanda, those who can show valid proof of residence in one of these countries and a negative COVID-19 test result, will also be exempted from the entry ban.

Authorities in Sweden recently announced that they will recognize COVID-19 vaccination passports for travelers from Andorra, Albania, Faroe Islands, Morocco, Israel and Panama.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No