Schengen Visa News

Spain Removes Denmark’s North Jutland Region From List of High-Risk Areas, Adds Whole of Romania & Slovakia

The Spanish Ministry of Health, Consumption and Social Welfare has updated the list of high-risk countries in the European Union and the Schengen area, from which travelers are subject to the requirements for proof of vaccination against COVID-19, recovery from the virus in recent months, or negative test results for the Corona virus, in the event that the traveler does not carry any of the two.

According to the new update, which became effective on September 20 and will remain in effect until September 26, the Danish region of North Jutland has been removed from the list. The decision means that nearly 600,000 residents of the region can now travel to Spain without restrictions.

In an update last week, the entire territory of Denmark was included in the list. However, with the exclusion of North Jutland, travelers from the rest of the regions remain subject to entry restrictions, which are as follows:

The Danish Capital Region (Hovedstaden) Middle Jutland (Midtjylland) Zealand (Sjælland) Southern Denmark (Syddanmark)

On the other hand, after this week’s assessment of the COVID-19 situation in Romania and Slovakia, all the territories of both countries were included in the list, differently from last week when only the Slovak regions of Bratislavsky and Slovensko, as well as Bucureşti-Ilfov, Nord-Est and Nord-Vest, Sud-Est, Sud-Muntenia, SudVest Oltenia and Vest are part of the list.

WHO data shows that Romania reported 47.5 new cases of COVID-19 per 100,000 population, while Slovakia reported 76.5 new infections for the same population during the same period. On the other hand, Spain reported less than 19.7.

After Bulgaria, Romania is the European Union country with the lowest vaccination rate, with only 33.6 percent of the country’s adult population having received at least their first shot of a COVID-19 vaccine. In Slovenia, 52 percent of the adult population has been vaccinated with at least the first dose of the COVID-19 vaccine.

Vaccination rates in these two countries are very low compared to Spain, where data from the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control shows that 89.7 percent of the adult population in Spain has received at least the first vaccination of a vaccine against the Corona virus.

As a result, the list of EU/Schengen area countries from which travelers are subject to more stringent entry restrictions consists of the following:

Austria Belgium Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus Denmark (Hovedstaden, Midtjylland, Sjælland and Syddanmark) Estonia Finland (Helsinki-Uusimaa, Etelä-Suomi, Länsi-Suomi and Pohjois- ja Itä-Suomi) France Germany Greece Hungary (Budapest) Iceland Ireland, Italy (Basilic Calabria, Sicily, Abruzzo, Campania, Emilia-Romagna, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Lazio, Liguria, Lombardy, Marche, Molise, Piedmont, Autonomous Province of Bolzano/Bozen, Autonomous Province of Trento, Apulia, Sardina, Tuscany, Umbria, and Vienna) Liechtenstein Luxembourg Lithuania Malta Netherlands Norway Portugal Romania Slovakia Slovenia Sweden

>> What COVID-19 vaccines are approved for travel to Spain

The ministry has not made any changes to the list of epidemiologically safe third countries, which means that travelers from Australia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, China, Hong Kong, Jordan, Macau, New Zealand, Qatar, Moldova, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Ukraine and Uruguay are allowed to enter Spain for

>> Travel to Sweden: current rules and restrictions imposed due to COVID-19

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No