Schengen Visa News

Spain Removes 7 Third Countries From Its Safe List

Travelers from Bahrain, Colombia, the United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Peru, Qatar and Uruguay face stricter entry restrictions when entering Spain as they have been removed from the “safe third country list”.

The decision was announced by the Spanish Ministry of Health, which stated that the new rules against these seven countries will start to apply from today, January 24, reports.

Previously, travelers who arrived in Spain from one of these seven countries were allowed to enter without having to provide proof of vaccination against the disease or a recent COVID-19 test.

However, since Bahrain, Colombia, United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Peru, Qatar and Uruguay are no longer part of the safe list, travelers from these regions now need to present a valid vaccination certificate.

Regarding the validity of vaccination permits, travelers should note that from February 1, Spain will only recognize certificates indicating that the holder has been fully vaccinated against the virus within the last 270 days.

“From February 1, 2022, keep in mind that you will need at least 14 days from the last dose and no more than 270 days since the date the last dose was given. From that moment on, your vaccination certificate must show administration of the booster dose,” the website emphasized. Spain’s official tourism, Travel Safe.

This means that all those who received their last dose more than 270 days ago will have to receive an extra dose in order for their entry permit to be considered valid upon arrival in Spain.

In addition to the requirement to present a certificate of vaccination, everyone over the age of 12 must fill out a health control form before entering Spain. Once the form is filled out, travelers will receive a QR code, which can then be presented to the responsible authorities upon arrival.

Although Spain has made changes to its safe list, many third countries will continue to remain part of it as long as their epidemiological situation does not worsen. The third countries that are currently part of the Spain safe list are as follows:

Saudi Arabia; Chile; China; Including the administrative regions of Hong Kong, Macau, South Korea, Indonesia, New Zealand, Rwanda and Taiwan

Through the same update, the Spanish authorities announced that all countries of the European Union and the Schengen area, with the exception of Switzerland, will remain part of their risk list.

This means that all travelers arriving in Spain from an EU/Schengen area listed at risk must present a valid EU digital COVID certificate upon arrival in order to be admitted into the country.

>> Spain expects a recovery in the tourism sector in the spring

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No