Schengen Visa News

Spain Prolongs Current Travel Restrictions for EU/Schengen Area Countries

Travelers from European Union countries and the Schengen area will still be subject to entry rules upon arrival in Spain, as the latter decided to prolong the current procedures.

Updating the list of EU/Schengen area countries, the authorities clarified that Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech, Cyprus, Germany, Croatia, Denmark, Slovakia, Slovenia, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Italy will remain Latvia and Liechtenstein Luxembourg, Lithuania, Malta, Norway, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania and Sweden are part of the risk list for another week.

The current list was updated yesterday, February 14, and will remain in effect until February 20, reports.

In line with Spain’s current entry procedures, travelers from these countries are allowed to enter as long as they fill out a health control form and present one of the certifications that fall under the EU’s COVID-19 digital certificate.

“If you are coming from a country/region at risk for COVID-19, you must provide a certificate or document proving vaccination, Diagnostic Test for Active Infection (PDIA) or recovery from COVID-19,” the authorities’ statement reads.

However, before heading to Spain, travelers should note that Spain now applies different rules to vaccination certificates. Since February 1, Spain only recognizes vaccination cards that prove that the holder has completed the initial vaccination within the last 270 days.

People who have been vaccinated more than 270 days ago need to receive a booster in order to be considered immune when traveling to Spain and therefore exempt from the strict entry rules.

“Keep in mind that you need at least 14 days from the last dose and no more than 270 days since the date of the last dose. From that moment on, your vaccination certificate must show the administration of the booster dose,” the authorities stressed.

On the other hand, strict rules still apply to arrivals from third countries. Only travelers from Saudi Arabia, China (including Hong Kong and Macau), South Korea, Indonesia, New Zealand, Rwanda and Taiwan can enter Spain for travel purposes

Despite the fact that the same rules will continue to apply to arrivals from the EU/Schengen area and third countries, the Spanish authorities yesterday relaxed their entry rules for non-EU travelers aged 12-17.

Third-country travelers of these ages can now enter Spain without the need to present a valid vaccination certificate. They are allowed in as long as they have a negative PCR or rapid antigen test result.

>> Spain only accepts negative results for COVID-19 antigen tests taken within 24 hours, instead of 48 hours

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No