Schengen Visa News

Spain Prolongs Current COVID-19 Entry Measures Until March 20

The Spanish Ministry of Health revealed through its latest update that EU/EEA countries will remain part of the risk list for another week.

The list was updated yesterday, March 14, and will remain in effect until March 20, reports.

The current risk list for Spain includes all EU/EEA countries: Belgium, Austria, Germany, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Denmark, Croatia, Finland, Estonia, Slovakia, Slovenia, France (except Mayotte), Ireland, Hungary, Greece, Latvia and Iceland Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Norway, Malta, Luxembourg, Portugal, Poland, the Netherlands, Sweden and Romania.

However, travelers from these countries can still enter Spain for travel purposes provided they meet the COVID-19 entry requirements.

Travelers arriving in Spain from one of the EU/EEA countries on the risk list need to fill out a health monitoring form. In addition, they are also required to present one of the certificates that is part of the EU COVID-19 Pass.

The ministry explains: “If you come from a country at risk in connection with COVID-19, you must provide a certificate or document evidencing vaccination, diagnostic testing for active infection, or recovery from COVID-19.”

Such a statement means that all travelers from one of the above-mentioned EU/EEA countries need to present a valid vaccination or recovery certificate in order to be allowed unrestricted entry into Spain.

In addition, those who submit a recently obtained negative COVID-19 test result can enter Spain without having to follow additional entry rules.

The certificate of vaccination is valid upon arrival in Spain only if the document proves that the holder has completed the initial vaccination within the past nine months, while the certificate of recovery is accepted as long as it indicates that the holder has recovered from the virus in the last 180 days.

For negative COVID-19 tests, the ministry clarifies that Spain accepts PCR tests performed within 72 hours and rapid antigen tests performed within 24 hours prior to arrival.

Apart from the above-mentioned EU/EEA risk countries, Spain’s risk list also includes all other third countries that are not part of the exemption list. People from third countries can enter Spain for travel purposes only if they present a certificate of vaccination or recovery.

Unlike arrivals from countries classified as dangerous by Spanish authorities, travelers from safe third countries can enter Spain without restrictions. They do not need to provide a valid vaccination, recovery or test certificate.

Currently, the list of safe third countries in Spain includes China (including Hong Kong, Macau, Colombia, Saudi Arabia, Indonesia, the United Arab Emirates, Rwanda, Qatar, Peru, Kuwait, and Taiwan.

Editor’s Choice:

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No