Europe Travel News

Spain Imposes Additional Entry Rules for Travellers From Malta

Travelers from Malta now need to follow additional entry rules when arriving in Spain because the latter has put Malta on its high-risk list.

Malta has been part of the list of safe countries for several months. However, since the epidemiological situation began to deteriorate, now its entire territory is severely affected by the virus.

Based on data provided by the World Health Organization (WHO), Malta has reported 59 new cases and one death in the past 24 hours, indicating an increase compared to other weeks.

In line with Spain’s current entry rules, all travelers from Malta are required to provide proof of vaccination against the virus with one of the recognized travel vaccines.

>> What are the approved COVID-19 vaccines for travel to Spain

Travelers who present a valid refund certificate certifying that no more than six months have passed since the document was received, can also enter Spain.

People who do not hold either document are required to provide a negative COVID-19 test result in order to be allowed to enter Spain. In addition, regardless of vaccination or recovery status, everyone must fill out a health monitoring form.

The same rules apply to the 26 other EU/Schengen area countries that will be part of Spain’s high-risk list until November 28.

These countries are Germany, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech, Cyprus, Croatia, Denmark, Slovakia, Slovenia, Estonia, France, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Latvia, Luxembourg, Norway, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal Romania and Sweden.

Several regions of Italy and Finland are also categorized as high risk, which means that arrivals from the following regions need to follow the entry rules:

Regions of Finland: Southern Finland, Helsinki, Western Finland, Northern and Eastern Finland Regions of Italy: Province of Bolzano, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Marche, Veneto, Basilicata, Abruzzo, Campania, Emilia-Romagna, Lazio, Calabria, Liguria, Lombardy, Piedmont, Trento, Apulia , Molise, Tuscany, Umbria, and Valle d’Aosta.

In addition, the Spanish authorities revealed that the list of epidemiologically safe third countries has also been updated. Indonesia has recently been added to the list of safe third countries.

As for the other part, the menu has not changed. Spain’s list of safe third countries consists of Saudi Arabia, Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Canada, Chile, Colombia, South Korea, United Arab Emirates, Jordan, Kuwait, Namibia, New Zealand, Peru, Qatar, Rwanda, Uruguay, Taiwan and China. and administrative regions of Hong Kong and Macau.

Previously, the Spanish authorities ended the visa requirement for musicians from the UK for short periods. This means that those who will remain in the country for less than 90 will no longer be required to meet visa requirements.

>> Travel around Europe with an antigen test

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No