Schengen Visa News

Spain Extends Travel Restrictions, Requires Booster Jabs for Those Vaccinated Before May 2021

The Spanish Ministry of Health has extended travel restrictions for travelers from European Union and other Schengen area countries for another week, until February 13, due to the ongoing spread of COVID-19 infection in the bloc.

By updating the list of European danger zones, the ministry clarified that the list would remain unchanged for another week. Part of which are the following EU/Schengen countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta and the Netherlands Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and Sweden.

“If you are coming from a country/region at risk for COVID-19, you must provide a certificate or document proving vaccination, Diagnostic Test for Active Infection (PDIA), or recovery from COVID-19. These certificates will be different if issued in a country of EU countries (EU digital COVID certificate) or in a third country,” the ministry clarifies with regard to travel from countries in the EU listed as at-risk.

It also notes that since February 1, travelers who have not received a COVID-19 booster dose should be aware of the validity of their vaccinated certificates. Those vaccinated before mid-May 2021 must take their booster doses and renew their vaccination certificates in order to be eligible to travel to Spain without restrictions.

Spanish authorities continue to consider all third countries as high-risk countries with the exception of:

China (including the administrative regions of Hong Kong and Macau), Indonesia, New Zealand, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, and Taiwan

Last week, Chile was also part of this list but has now been removed due to an increase in the number of COVID-19 cases in its territory.

For travelers from other third countries, which Spain lists as high-risk areas, they are required to present their QR code with their vaccination or recovery certificate as well as the negative COVID-19 results of the test taken before departure.

Residents of these countries can travel to Spain with a certificate of vaccination against COVID-19, a negative test taken within 72 hours (NAAT) / 24 hours (RAT) prior to arrival, or a certificate of recovery from COVID-19.

Since last week, only negative results of coronavirus antigen tests conducted 24 hours before a traveler arrives in Spain will be accepted for entry into the country, instead of the 48 hours that have been accepted so far.

The QR code is obtained upon completion of the health control form through the Spanish Health Portal, prior to departure. Completing the form is mandatory for all sea and air travelers. It is not obligatory to provide it to those arriving in Spain by road.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No