Schengen Visa News

Spain Doesn’t Plan to Facilitate Travel Restrictions Ahead of Christmas

Although Christmas is approaching, the latest update by the Spanish authorities shows that the country will continue to impose entry restrictions on the majority of arrivals.

According to the new classification of countries taking effect from today, December 13, although more people plan to take a trip over the next week, Spain will still require travelers from high-risk and high-risk areas to comply with strict entry restrictions. report.

Spain currently allows entry to all fully vaccinated travelers, including those from a country under the risk list, without imposing any additional entry procedures.

With the latest update, the Spanish authorities clarified that the list of risks still includes Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Croatia, Denmark, Germany, Slovenia, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Slovakia, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal and Romania.

This means that travelers from all EU/Schengen area countries mentioned above can travel to Spain as long as they meet all entry rules.

People arriving in Spain from one of these 28 countries are allowed to enter as long as they present a valid vaccination certificate indicating that the holder has been fully immunized against the virus with one of the vaccines recognized by Spain for travel.

>> What COVID-19 vaccines are approved for travel to Spain

Those who hold a restitution certificate are also allowed to enter Spain under the soft rules, provided the certificate is no more than 180 days old.

In contrast, EU/Schengen area nationals who do not hold one of the two documents listed above can enter Spain only if they submit a negative PCR test result or a rapid antigen test result.

The PCR test must be performed within 72 hours prior to entering Spain, while the rapid antigen test must not exceed 48 hours time of arrival.

The Spanish authorities confirmed that “children under the age of 12 are not required to present these certificates or supporting documents.”

On the other hand, Spain maintains strict entry rules against arrivals from countries that are currently on the high-risk list.

Spain’s high-risk list includes nine African countries at the moment. These countries are Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

All persons entering Spain after staying in one of the areas listed above must submit a negative PCR result taken within 72 hours prior to arrival as well as submit a completed Travel Validity Form.

>> Spain imposes mandatory testing requirements for those coming from high-risk countries

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No