Europe Travel News

Southern France’s Residents Face Stricter Entry Restrictions When Travelling to Germany

French residents of the southern French regions of Occitanie, Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, Corsica and the French overseas territories of Guadeloupe, Martinique, Reunion, Saint Martin and Saint Barthelemy face stricter entry restrictions when traveling to Germany from August 8.

The decision was announced by Germany’s Robert Koch Institute, the country’s research institute responsible for disease control and prevention, in its latest update of global risk zones.

According to the update, these areas in France will be included in the list of high-risk areas, from which, among other things, travelers need to provide evidence of immunity to COVID-19 or negative COVID-19 test results.

This means that all travelers 12 years of age or older must present a negative test certificate on entry or a vaccination or health certificate on entry.

“In addition, when entering the Federal Republic of Germany after staying in a high-risk foreign zone or virus-changing zone, special registration, verification and quarantine obligation must be taken into account,” RKI explains, adding that the quarantine must be carried out for ten days.

Those who have been vaccinated with one of the vaccines approved by the German authorities to enter the country, as well as those who have recovered from the virus, can avoid quarantine. Those who enter through a test can only end the quarantine period after five days if they take the test again and the result is negative.

>> Germany allows entry to travelers with 5 COVID-19 vaccines, including Covishield

The new measures against France follow advice from the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control for travelers to avoid visiting some areas in France. Several countries of the European Union and the Schengen area have already imposed stricter restrictions on travelers from this country, including Denmark and the Netherlands.

At the same time, besides the south of France, the following third countries were added to the list:

Algeria Bangladesh Haiti Honduras Iraq Kazakhstan Korea (People’s Democratic Republic) Morocco Mexico Myanmar Papua New Guinea Philippines Senegal Tajikistan Thailand Trinidad and Tubag 0 Turkmenistan Uzbekistan

On the other hand, the Netherlands has been removed from the list of high-risk areas, which means that travelers from this country are now exempt from the requirement of self-isolation.

Currently, only Brazil and Uruguay remain on the list of regions at risk, as no new changing regions of the virus have been added to the list since the last change.

Arrivals from these two countries need to self-isolate for 14 days upon arrival in Germany. Early termination of quarantine is generally not possible for these travelers.

>> Who can travel to Germany this summer and what are the rules

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No