Europe Travel News

Russia Is Delaying the Mutual Recognition of the COVID Health Passes – EU Ambassador Says

The European Union has pointed an accusing finger at the Russian government for not being able to visit the country despite a full coronavirus vaccination, as Putin’s government has not yet recognized the EU’s COVID-19 digital certificate.

According to the Ambassador of the European Union to Russia, Markus Eder, all the information and requests required from the Russian health authorities for the mutual recognition of the EU certificates related to the coronavirus have been sent to the Russian Ministry of Health.

However, the Russian authorities did not prepare the necessary documents to send them to the European Commission in Brussels. According to Ederer, it is deliberately delaying the date of inspection by the European Medicines Agency, reports.

“I am sorry about that because mutual recognition of parity, including by Russia, will certainly make life easier for people who travel in both directions,” Idir told Russian news site RBC in an interview published last week.

Moreover, Idir noted that this delay slows down the process of facilitating travel to Russia and that this is a technical process, not a political one.

These statements come a day after the World Health Organization (WHO) revealed that the issue of approval of the Sputnik V. vaccine has been resolved and the shot is ready for approval. Moreover, the Russian Direct Investment Fund (RDIF), which distributes Sputnik V worldwide, said the WHO will send a delegation to visit Russia as part of approval procedures later in October.

EU member states joined the EU COVID-19 digital portal at the beginning of June, and since then, the document has been released to all EU citizens who have been fully vaccinated with EMA approved vaccines, as below the list indicates :

Pfizer / BioNTech (Comirnaty) AstraZeneca EU (Vaxzevria) Johnson & Johnson (Janssen) Moderna (Spikevax)

The document is also issued to those who have recovered from COVID-19, giving them the opportunity to travel abroad at least 30 days after their recovery.

At the moment, Russia has the highest COVID-19 death rates in Europe, at least 213,500 people, and the second highest number of cases with around 7.7 million.

Two months ago, the European Union invited Moscow to discuss mutual recognition of vaccination certificates in a bid to facilitate travel for people who have been fully vaccinated against the virus.

According to the status of COVID-19 vaccines published by the World Health Organization, Sputnik is in the process of evaluation.

“Several meetings have taken place and are still being held. Pending completion of the rolling submission, the expected date will be determined once all the statements have been submitted and the follow-up to the inspection notes has been completed.”

Moreover, VisaGuide.World previously reported that there are currently 73 countries allowing travelers who have been vaccinated with Sputnik V to enter their territory, including countries such as Albania, Argentina, Armenia, Bahrain, Belarus, Bangladesh, Brazil, Hungary, India, Iran, Lebanon, North Macedonia, San Marino, Slovakia, Cyprus, Egypt, Mexico, Greece, Turkey and United Arab Emirates.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No