Europe Travel News

Poland Bans Flights From 7 South African Countries & Introduces 14-Day Quarantine for Third Countries Unvaccinated Arrivals

Amid growing concerns about Omicron, the latest variant of COVID-19, Polish authorities have banned flights and ordered strict entry rules for third-country nationals as well as restricting access to many activities and facilities for unvaccinated locals.

According to Adam Nidzelsky, Poland’s Minister of Health, the flights are from seven countries; Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe, as well as the requirement to enter a ten to 14-day quarantine for citizens of non-vaccinated third countries, with the possibility of reducing the isolation time by taking the test on the eighth day.

The measures, which can be lengthened depending on the situation, will be in effect from December 1-17, reports.

In connection with the emergence of a new boom, we have prepared an urgent package of restrictions. “We are entering a ban on flights from seven African countries,” Nidzelsky said at a press conference earlier this week.

However, the stricter restrictions apply not only to third-country nationals but also to Polish citizens themselves, as the current 75 percent population capacity set for cinemas, theaters, restaurants, bars, hotels and churches will be reduced to 50 percent, excluding fully vaccinated individuals.

Although the country has not reported any positive cases with the new variant of the coronavirus, Poland has recorded 163,074 cases of COVID-19 in the past seven days, in addition to 2,224 recorded deaths during the same period.

Neighboring country, however, remains a concern, as Germany has confirmed cases with the new variant, which originates on the African continent. Additionally, positive cases of this strain have been reported in the United Kingdom. In response, European Union governments, including the Swiss, have offered the British more strict entry rules in a bid to reduce the spread of the coronavirus.

Currently, the World Health Organization does not specify symptoms of the virus and its transmissibility, with studies being carried out. However, the breed is believed to have milder symptoms than delta spurs, but hospitalizations across the African region show a significant increase.

We have seen a sharp increase in the number of cases over the past 10 days. Most cases so far have been very mild cases, with patients showing flu-like symptoms: a dry cough, fever, night sweats and a lot of body aches, Dr. Unpin Pillai, GP, told NBC.

About 81 percent of the new cases of the omicron variant were reported in Gauteng province, which includes two of South Africa’s major cities, Johannesburg and Pretoria, which have a population of more than eight million.

In the past seven days, there have been 31,544 positive cases of COVID-19 and 223 deaths from the virus in South Africa, which is 24.11 fully vaccinated people per 100 residents – about 41 percent less compared to the average Fully pollinated Europeans. citizens.

Following reports of Omicron’s cases, the EU government immediately introduced stricter entry restrictions and a temporary ban on flights from South Africa’s changing region, and France was among the first countries to suspend those flights until further notice.

In addition, except for the tightening of entry rules for seven South African countries, Lithuania has also imposed stricter rules on the European Union, as its green category currently does not include any country. These measures came on the heels of a sharp rise in positive cases with the discovery of COVID-19 across a block of 27 countries.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No