Schengen Visa News

Over 1 Million German Students Have Studied in Another EU Country With Erasmus

The German Academic Service (DAAD) has revealed that since the launch of the EU Erasmus+ programme, more than one million German students have been able to travel to another European country for study purposes.

Aside from German students, in the past 35 years, more than 12 million Europeans have participated in the Erasmus programme, reports.

“Eu Erasmus + was a 35 -year -old success model: Since its launch on June 15, 1987, Erasmus enabled about a million German students to travel to another European country. More than twelve million Europeans participated in total in Erasmus,” as stated in a statement. DAAD.

Commenting on these figures, DAAD President Guiprato Mukherjee said that Erasmus served as an emotional and intellectual bond for the European younger generation.

More than two years into the COVID-19 pandemic, German students are eager to spend time abroad. The number of orders has already exceeded that of the entire previous year.

Mukherjee said that this year they have seen a 20 percent increase in Erasmus applications from German universities compared to 2021. About 71,000 applications have already been received.

The current Erasmus Program (2021-2027) has a budget of over €28 billion to support the education policy objectives of the European Union Commission, thereby increasing the attractiveness of Europe as a location for academic study and research.

Within the framework of higher education, the Erasmus program targets all students and members of higher education institutions for their study stays and internships. It was noted that the new program period focuses on promoting equal opportunity, diversity, inclusion, sustainability and digital transformation.

In addition, the new program period also rewards the use of sustainable modes of transport for travel outside Germany.

“Erasmus+ is the European Union’s program for education, training, youth and sports. The DAAD highlighted that it follows the motto of “enriching lives, opening minds” to promote cooperation in all areas of education across Europe.”

A total of 33 countries participate in the Erasmus program – EU member states Iceland, Liechtenstein, North Macedonia, Norway, Serbia and Turkey.

Previously, reported that Germany is offering more funds to students under the Erasmus programme. The German Ministry of Education has increased the financial aid in an effort to increase the living allowance for students pursuing their academic career in other countries.

The head of the Ministry of Education, Bettina Stark-Watzinger, said the new fund had been increased to 57 million euros. According to her, this amount will enable the authority to support up to 13,700 students.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No