Schengen Visa News

Official: EU Adds US, Albania, Serbia & More Third Countries to the List of Epidemiologically Safe Third-Countries

The Council of the European Union has updated the list of epidemiologically safe third countries, in which non-EU/EEA countries are placed as safe amid the coronavirus pandemic due to low rates of COVID-19 infection and a successful vaccine release. campaigns.

Through the update, the council advised the 27 member states to allow unrestricted entry to residents of the United States, Albania, Lebanon, North Macedonia, Serbia, Taiwan and the Chinese administrative regions of Hong Kong and Macau regardless of their COVID-19 vaccination status.

“Following a review under the recommendation regarding the gradual lifting of temporary restrictions on non-essential travel to the European Union, the Council has updated the list of countries, special administrative regions and other entities and regional authorities whose travel restrictions should be lifted,” the Council noted in a press release issued today, June 18 June.

The change was previously warned by on June 16.

The Board will continue to review the list every two weeks, in order to add more countries that meet the criteria to be part of the list, and to exclude those where the COVID-19 situation is deteriorating.

Thus, as of June 18, the EU list of epidemiologically safe third countries consists of the following:

Albania Australia Chinese areas of Hong Kong and Macau Israel Japan Lebanon New Zealand North Macedonia Rwanda Serbia Singapore South Korea Taiwan Thailand USA

Restrictions on China will remain in place, as the country is subject to confirmation of reciprocity. This means that once China allows entry to EU citizens, the EU will remove the entry ban for Chinese travelers. However, the reciprocity clause has been lifted for Hong Kong and Macau.

Travel restrictions should also be gradually lifted for the special administrative regions of China, Hong Kong and Macau. The Council indicated that the requirement of reciprocity for these special administrative regions has been lifted.

It also clarifies that within the category of regional entities and authorities not recognized as states by at least one member state, member states must also rescind the entry ban for Taiwan residents.

Earlier, the council updated the list on June 3, when it added Japan to the list of epidemic-safe countries and did not exclude any other. Before Japan, Israel was added to the list on May 6.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No