Schengen Visa News

Norway Reintroduces Entry Ban on Travellers From Kosovo, Ukraine & North Macedonia

The Norwegian authorities have announced that travelers from Kosovo, Ukraine and North Macedonia, who have hitherto been allowed to enter Norway under specific purposes of entry, such as visiting a friend/girlfriend in that country, are no longer allowed to do so.

The decision was revealed on Friday, August 13, and will take effect on Monday, August 16. This means that starting next week, the following categories of travelers who have so far been allowed to enter Norway from Kosovo, Ukraine and North Macedonia can no longer do so:

Adult children and great-grandchildren of Norwegian citizens Parents, spouses, and mothers of adult children/stepchildren of Norwegian citizens Grandparents and great-grandchildren of Norwegian children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren of Norwegian citizens and friends and girlfriends of Norwegian citizens – The relationship must last at least nine months, both parties must have met before

The decision was made after an increase in the number of coronavirus infections that were recently detected in the territories of all these three countries, reports.

According to data revealed by the World Health Organization, Kosovo, with a population of 1.873 million, has recorded a total of 1,009 cases in the past 24 hours. Ukraine, which has a population of 44.39 million, has recorded 1,263 cases, and North Macedonia, which has a population of 2.077 million, has recorded 639 new cases of COVID-19.

Due to the increase in the number of cases, Finland has also decided to reintroduce the entry ban for travelers from Kosovo and North Macedonia, starting on Monday, August 16.

The Norwegian government has also introduced more entry restrictions on several EU countries, including Bulgaria, Liechtenstein, Slovenia and Austria, from which countries will be subject to quarantine on arrival after the four were placed from green to orange.

At the same time, quarantine requirements were introduced for five new regions of Sweden – Jämtland, Södermanland, Uppsala (moving from green to orange), Västerbotten and Västmanland, as well as for two regions of Finland – South Ostrobothnia SVD and Vaasa SVD.

On the other hand, those coming from the Netherlands will not be subcontracted for quarantine requirements upon entry, as the country has been moved from the dark red category to the red category. Travelers from this country can now self-isolate in private accommodations.

>> Travel to Norway: current rules and restrictions

Travelers from the EU/EEA who have been fully vaccinated or have had covid-19 in the past six months are exempted from all types of travel restrictions if they are able to prove it with a valid Norwegian/Swedish/Danish certificate, Certificate in according to Corona Digital Certificate An EU or NHS Covid passport from England or Wales with a QR code that can be verified by Norwegian authorities.

>> Norway only recognizes travel approved vaccines

Last week, reported that Norway has decided to impose a dual test obligation and quarantine requirements in government-provided quarantine facilities for travelers from Monaco.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No