Europe Travel News

Norway Now Recognises COVID Certificates Issued in Georgia, Moldova, New Zealand & Serbia

Travelers who have been vaccinated and recovered from three third countries – Georgia, Moldova, New Zealand and Serbia – can now travel to Norway without restrictions as their COVID-19 passports are recognized under the same conditions as other certificates issued by EU/Schengen area countries.

The decision to recognize COVID-19 certificates issued in one of these three countries comes after the European Commission announced that Georgia, Moldova and Serbia have officially joined the EU’s COVID-19 digital certificate system. In a separate announcement, the same revealed that New Zealand is now also connected to the EU DCC portal.

According to a press release from the Ministry of Health and Welfare Services on November 17, in line with the new rules, travelers from Georgia, Moldova, New Zealand and Serbia can now travel to Norway without the need to pursue testing or self-isolation. Requirements, report.

However, in order to avoid quarantine and testing rules, citizens of these four countries must present a valid vaccination certificate indicating that they have been immunized against the virus with one of the vaccines recognized by Norway for travel.

>> Norway admits only four travel vaccines

“People who have been fully vaccinated and who can document this with a certificate from one of these countries will have legal entry into Norway and quarantine exemptions to enter. They will also be exempt from the test requirement after arriving in Norway,” the Norwegian Ministry of Health and Care Services said in a statement.

Furthermore, apart from travelers who have been fully vaccinated, the exemption from testing and quarantine requirements also applies to travelers who have recovered from COVID-19 within the past six months.

Apart from these countries whose COVID-19 certificates are now widely accepted in Norway, the latter’s authorities already accept certificates issued by 17 other non-EEA/Schengen countries, which are as follows:

Albania Andorra Armenia Faroe Islands Iceland Israel Liechtenstein Morocco Monaco North Macedonia Panama San Marino Great Britain Switzerland Turkey Ukraine Vatican City State

On the other hand, stricter entry rules apply to non-vaccinated and non-exempt travelers from Georgia, Moldova, New Zealand, Serbia or any of the countries listed above.

In general, unvaccinated and unwell travelers from red and dark red countries are required to take a PCR test upon arrival and remain isolated for ten days. The quarantine period after the third day can be shortened by submitting a negative test.

As for travelers from the green and orange listed areas who have not been vaccinated or recovered from the virus, the Norwegian authorities have made it clear that they are only required to undergo a COVID-19 test upon arrival. The quarantine requirement does not apply to this category of travellers.

Previously, reported that arrivals from several countries are now subject to entry rules upon arrival in Norway. Only one country is part of Norway’s safe travel list at the moment.

>> Travel to Norway: current rules and restrictions

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No