Europe Travel News

Norway Now Imposes Stringent Entry Restrictions on Travellers From All EU Member States

People from the Canary Islands in Spain, Corsica in France, Madeira in Portugal, the Länsi-Pohja region in Finland and the regions of Blekinge, Halland and Värmland in Sweden, will no longer be allowed to enter the country without undergoing quarantine and testing requirements, the Norwegian authorities announced.

The decision, which affects all unvaccinated travelers from these countries, goes into effect on Monday, November 22, reports.

However, for travelers in the Ostra Savolax regions of Finland and Östergötland in Sweden, quarantine and testing requirements will be ended as countries are added to the Safe Travel List (Green Category).

The remaining countries and territories in the green category, from which arrivals are not subject to any testing for quarantine requirements, include the Swedish regions of Dalarna, Gotland and Jämtland, the Finish region of Öland and the Italian island of Sardinia.

Those coming from these areas are the only ones who are not subject to strict entry restrictions.

Moreover, the same entry rules apply to the orange category, which consists of:

EU member states: France, Italy, Malta, Monaco, Portugal, San Marino, Spain and Vatican City. Sweden: Östergötland, Jönköping, Kronoberg, Västerbotten, Västernorrland. Finland: Östra Savolax Kajanaland, Lapland, North Karelia, North Savolax, Satakunta, Södra Savolax, Vaasa. European Union archipelagos: Azores (Portugal) and Sicily (Italy)

On the other hand, non-vaccinated arrivals from red and dark red countries will have to follow stricter rules, including taking COVID-19 testing at the border on arrival and quarantine, with the opportunity to end self-isolation three days after arrival.

The red category includes the following areas:

EU member states: Cyprus, Luxembourg, Poland, Romania and Switzerland. Sweden: Blekinge, Halland, Värmland, Gävleborg, Kalmar, Norrbotten, Skien, Stockholm, Södermanland, Uppsala, Västra Götaland and Örebro. Denmark: Central Jutland, northern Jutland and southern Denmark. Finland: Länsi-Pohja, Birkalands, Central Hämeenlinna, Southwest Finland, Helsinki, Uusimaa, Kymmenedalen, Central Finland, Central Ostrobothnia, Northern Ostrobothnia, Päijat-Häme, South Ostrobothnia, Southern Karelia. EU archipelago: Balearic Islands (Spain), Crete (Greece) and Southern Aegean Islands (Greece)

Moreover, the dark red color category consists of:

EU member states: Andorra, Belgium, Bulgaria, Estonia, Greece, Ireland, Iceland, Croatia, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Netherlands, Slovakia, Slovenia, United Kingdom, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary and Austria. Denmark: the capital (including Copenhagen) and Zealand. European Union Archipelago: Ionian Islands (Greece) and Northern Aegean Islands (Greece)

The same entry rules apply to the purple category as well, which currently includes Argentina, Bahrain, the United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Namibia, New Zealand, Peru, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and Taiwan.

The NIPH’s assessment of countries and regions included in the EU’s third-state list with contagion provides a basis for somewhat milder entry rules. These countries and regions are referred to as the “Purple Land”. Requirements are set for quarantine entry, testing and entry from the purple country,” the press release explains.

On the other hand, Australia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Hong Kong, Jordan, China, Macau, Rwanda, South Korea and Uruguay make the gray category, with arrivals subject to ongoing entry restrictions, quarantine and testing requirements.

Data from the World Health Organization (WHO) revealed that in the past 24 hours, five deaths related to COVID-19 and 620 positive cases of the disease were reported in Norway.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No