Europe Travel News

Norway Makes Pre-Entry Registration & Testing Compulsory for Incoming Travellers

The Norwegian government has joined the long list of European governments imposing strict entry restrictions amid an increase in coronavirus cases on its soil and in the world.

Aside from moving more countries into the red and dark red categories, Norway has also decided to reintroduce the obligation to register before arriving on its territory for all travelers, including Norwegians and those vaccinated against COVID-19.

At the same time, unvaccinated and non-exempt travelers will have to take the test before arriving on the territory of Norway, the country’s Ministry of Justice has confirmed, reports.

More details about the move, Justice and Emergency Management Minister Emily Inger Mehl revealed that the decision on both demands will become effective next Friday, November 26.

“From that date, everyone must register before entering Norway. On the advice of a health professional, we are also reintroducing the requirement for a negative test that was taken prior to entry. The Minister noted that this applies to anyone who cannot document with an approved Corona certificate that they have been Fully vaccinated or exposed to COVID-19 in the past six months.

It also clarified that the registration and testing requirement applies to travelers regardless of the country of departure.

Only travelers under the age of 16, as well as some selected categories of travelers, are exempt from the pre-entry requirement.

While the requirement to test within 24 hours before arriving in Norway is exempted, everyone who holds a coronavirus certificate proving that they have been vaccinated with one of the vaccines approved in Norway for travel. Those who have recovered from COVID-19 are also exempt, as are those under the age of 18.

>> Norway only recognizes travel approved vaccines

At the same time, those without a vaccination or recovery certificate are also required to take the test upon arrival in Norway, either at the border or within 24 hours of entering the country if there is no testing station at the port of entry. So far, this requirement has only been applied to those coming from countries to which the quarantine obligation applies.

On November 19, reported that Norway will implement a quarantine obligation from November 22, for arrivals from Spain’s Canary Island, France’s Corsica, Portugal’s Madeira, Finland’s Länsi-Pohja region and Sweden’s Blekinge, Halland and Värmland regions.

On the other hand, those coming from Ostra Savolax SVD regions in Finland and Ostriotland in Sweden will be allowed to enter without quarantine starting from the same date.

>> Travel to Norway: current rules and restrictions

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No