Schengen Visa News

Norway Lifts Quarantine Requirement for Non-Vaccinated Travellers From Italy, France, Netherlands & 8 Other Countries 

The Norwegian Ministry of Health and Welfare Services has announced that travelers arriving in the country from some EU countries and the Schengen area, as well as several small European countries, will no longer be subject to quarantine requirements upon arrival in Norway.

The decision was announced in a press release issued on Friday, which also revealed that a gradual reduction of entry rules will take place from the afternoon of September 25, as a result of which quarantine will be applied to passengers of red and dark red. and purple and gray.

Children and young people under the age of 18 are exempt from quarantine. Quarantine for entry can also be shortened for all travelers by a negative PCR test that is performed no later than three days after arrival. Furthermore, the requirement for quarantine hotels to implement quarantine has been rescinded,”

Thus, those coming from the following countries, who do not have proof of vaccination or recovery, can enter Norway without being obligated to quarantine anymore:

France Iceland Italy Luxembourg Malta Monaco Portugal San Marino Slovakia Netherlands Vatican City

All arrivals from Andorra, Belgium, Bulgaria, Estonia, Greece, Ireland, Cyprus, Croatia, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Spain, Switzerland, Germany, Romania and Austria, who are placed in the red category, as well as Lithuania, must still adhere to the quarantine. Slovenia and Great Britain are classified in the dark red category.

Entry restrictions for arrivals from the Nordic regions were also changed, with the entry quarantine lifted for Sweden’s regions of Blekinge, Dalarna, Gävleborg, Gotland (changed from red), Halland, Jämtland, Jonkoping, Kalmar, Kronoberg, Södermannland, Uppsala, Värmland, Västerbotten, Västernorrland, Västmanland and Örebro. An end to the quarantine obligation for those coming from the Danish Faroe Islands has also been put in place, as well as for the majority of Finnish regions.

Travelers from New Zealand, Saudi Arabia and Taiwan, who are included in the purple category, are now also exempt from the obligation to self-isolate.

This step was taken to ease entry restrictions into the country after a year and a half of stringent restrictions in place. As a result, as of Saturday afternoon, all arrivals from orange-green countries are free of entry restrictions.

On the other hand, arrivals from red and dark red countries must register, be tested at the border, as well as quarantine in Norway. The period of self-isolation can be terminated three days after arrival in Norway by performing a polymerase chain reaction test, the results of which are negative.

As part of their plan to ease travel restrictions, the authorities will no longer extend the travel advice, which advises against completely non-essential travel to all countries outside the EU/EEA, the UK and Switzerland, as well as some countries and regions outside Europe.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No