Schengen Visa News

Norway Introduces Entry Quarantine to Arrivals from Italy, San Marino, Malta & 2 Other Regions

Norwegian authorities have announced that non-vaccinated and non-exempt travelers from Italy, San Marino, Vatican City, Malta and Sweden’s Östergötland region are obligated to follow mandatory quarantine requirements as these areas have been added to the red category, which represents high epidemic-risk countries.

According to the statement published by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the decision will go into effect on December 6. However, the same reveals the easing of entry rules for the Länsi-Pohja region in Finland and Norrbotten and Södermanland regions in Sweden, reports.

All travelers who have been fully vaccinated or recovered from COVID-19 in the past six months or who hold an EU Digital COVID-19 Certificate are exempt from entry restrictions upon entering Norway.

Furthermore, countries in the red category include:

European Union: Bulgaria, France, Portugal, Romania and Spain

EU islands: the Azores and Madeira (Portugal), the Balearic and Canary Islands (Spain), the North and South Aegean islands (Greece).

Sweden: Blekinge, Gävleborg, Gotland, Halland, Kalmar, Skien, Stockholm, Uppsala, Värmland, Västernorland, Västra Götaland and Örebro.

Finland: Birkaland, Central Hämeenlinna, Southwestern Finland, Helsinki and Uusimaa, Kymmenedalen, Central Finland, Central Ostrobothnia, Northern Savulaks, Paygat Hamm, Southern Ostrobothnia and Southern Karelia.

Unvaccinated and non-exempt travelers from red and dark red countries are required to undergo a ten-day quarantine upon arrival, in addition to a PCR or antigen test at the border checkpoint. Isolation time can be shortened if travelers take the PCR test that was taken no later than the third day of arrival.

>> Norway introduces mandatory test requirements for all travelers

In addition, the dark red category includes EU member states that are not in the red or orange category and the following regions:

Denmark: the capital (including Copenhagen), Central Jutland, North Jutland, Zealand and southern Denmark.

Finland: Norra Österbotten’s

EU islands: dark red: Ionian Islands, Crete (Greece) and Corsica (France).

Moreover, the orange category currently includes the regions of Dalarna, Jämtland, Jönköping, Kronoberg, Västerbotten, Finnish of Kajanaland, Lapland, North Karelia, Satakunta, Södra Savolax, Vasa, Östra Savolax, Åland and the Italian islands of Sardinia and Sicily.

>> Travel to Norway: current rules and restrictions

Although entry quarantine requirements do not apply to orange category travelers, all arrivals to Norway are required to take a test at the border checkpoint. Additionally, from November 27, the Norwegian government has taken stricter measures to reduce the spread of the new virus variant to Norway, which apply to arrivals from South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Mozambique, Lesotho, Eswatini and Malawi.

According to data from the World Health Organization (WHO), 17,067 positive cases with COVID-19 and 48 deaths related to the virus have been reported in Norway during the past seven days.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No