Europe Travel News

Norway Imposes Stricter Entry Restrictions for US Travellers

Norway tightened entry restrictions again for travelers from the United States after the National Institute of Public Health confirmed that the situation of the Corona virus in the United States had deteriorated.

Among other things, changes to entry restrictions mean that friends and girlfriends of Norwegian citizens will not be allowed to enter Norway from Monday, July 12. Grandparents of children who are Norwegian citizens will also be affected.

Commenting on the new decision, Minister for Justice and Emergency Preparedness Lars Jakob Heim said he understands that many people will be disappointed with the new changes.

The pandemic has been going on for a long time, and many have been hoping to see their loved ones this summer. Unfortunately, the contagion situation is rapidly changing in the world, and we have always been clear that there will be changes. The minister said that anyone planning to receive a visit from abroad should follow the situation closely.

He also noted that Norway still does not recommend Norwegian citizens to take trips abroad due to the fragile situation of COVID-19.

Norway lifted the entry ban on adult children, stepchildren, parents of adult children, stepchildren, grandparents, grandchildren and great-grandchildren of Norwegian citizens from several third countries less than a week ago, on July 5.

The entry ban on male and female friends over the age of 18 and their minor children who are Norwegian citizens has also been lifted.

However, the same categories of travelers can still enter Norway for the same purposes if they are resident in any of the following third countries:

Australia New Zealand Israel Japan Lebanon North Macedonia Serbia South Korea Singapore Taiwan

Currently, Norway ranks all countries as green, orange, red, and dark red.

For countries in the green category, there are no requirements for testing or quarantine. Green starts from July 12: Belgium, Bulgaria, Estonia, France, Faroe Islands, Greenland, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Croatia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland, Czech Republic and Germany Hungary, Vatican City and Austria.

Travelers from orange and red countries have the same rules. They must test negative for COVID-19 when traveling to Norway and quarantine upon arrival. Ireland, Latvia, the Netherlands and Monaco are orange, while Andorra, Spain, the United Kingdom, Cyprus and Portugal are in the red category.

The rest of the world is dark red, except for the list of third countries above, which are purple.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No