Europe Travel News

Norway Imposes Quarantine Rules for 2 Countries While Lifts Entry Ban for 4 Others

Norwegian authorities have announced that all non-vaccinated and non-exempt travelers arriving in the country from the Faroe Islands, Luxembourg and many regions of Finland and Sweden will have to follow self-isolation rules since they have been placed on the red list.

This decision was revealed today by the Department of Health and Welfare Services and will become fully effective on Monday, October 11, reports.

According to a press release issued by the same ministry, except for the Faroe Islands and Luxembourg, the four regions of Finland and the two regions of Sweden that will fall under the red list are as follows:

Finnish regions: Birkaland SVD, Helsinki, Uusimaa SVD, Central Finland SVD and Northern Ostrobothnia SVD Swedish regions: Västerbotten and Västmanland

However, to avoid confusion among travelers, the authorities have made it clear that those who have been fully vaccinated, those who have recovered from the disease, and children under the age of 18 are exempt from the requirement to self-isolate, regardless of which country they are traveling from. .

“Quarantine on entry applies only to travelers from countries in red, dark red, purple and grey. Children and young people under the age of 18 are exempt from entry quarantine regardless of where they come from.”

In addition, it has been confirmed that all travelers who are required to follow quarantine rules can end their isolation period earlier if they submit a negative COVID-19 test result taken no later than three days prior to arrival.

Excluding countries and regions newly included in the list of countries severely affected by COVID-19, this list already includes the following:

Red List: Belgium, Bulgaria, Greece, Ireland, Croatia, Slovakia, Switzerland, Germany, Austria Dark Red List: Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovenia, Great Britain

In addition, the same ministry announced that four countries, three archipelagos and three regions in Sweden will be part of the green list from Monday as the epidemiological situation has improved significantly in these countries/regions.

Thus, from Monday, the entry ban will no longer apply to the following:

EU countries: Andorra, Cyprus, Liechtenstein, Spain Archipelagos: Corsica, France, Crete, Sicily Regions of Sweden: Skien, Västra Götaland and Östergötland

This means that all people traveling to Norway from one of the countries, archipelagos and regions mentioned above will be allowed to enter without being subject to quarantine requirements.

Similarly, travelers from Taiwan, Saudi Arabia and New Zealand, who are currently on the purple list, are also exempt from the obligation to follow quarantine rules.

Norway previously announced that the country will now accept vaccination certificates indicating that the holder has been vaccinated with the Kofishield or Sinovac vaccine.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No