Europe Travel News

Norway Extends Advice Against Non-Essential Travel to Other Countries to September 1

The Government of Norway has decided to extend its advice against non-essential travel to all other countries until September 1 in order to prevent an increase in the number of COVID-19 infections.

However, according to the announcement published by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, such a decision will not include the countries of the European Union and the Schengen area, as well as the United Kingdom.

In addition, some countries and regions included in the third EU country list were also excluded from such a decision, reports.

In this regard, Norwegian Foreign Minister Ine Eriksen Soreides said the decision to extend the advice against non-essential travel to other countries was taken in line with the fourth phase of the country’s strategy to reopen borders to travelers from the EU/EEA.

She stressed that the situation of the Corona virus is still confusing in many other countries.

Some countries have a high inflection curve, and the health care system in many countries suffers. In addition, travel restrictions in other countries make it difficult for Norwegians to travel safely. Therefore, the proportion of Norwegians who have been vaccinated is also important when we look at the World Travel Council.

The government of Norway has gradually lifted its advice not to travel to other countries after assessing the situation of the Corona virus in them.

Last month, Norway raised the advice against travel to Saudi Arabia and Ukraine after it confirmed that both regions had recently recorded low infection rates.

In addition, since July 19, Norwegians are eligible to visit the following countries where the advice not to travel to these territories has been lifted: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Azerbaijan, Kosovo, Canada, Montenegro, Moldova, Qatar and Serbia.

Currently, the travel advice is no longer applicable to the following countries: Albania, Azerbaijan, Australia, Canada, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Israel, Japan, Moldova, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, New Zealand, Qatar, Serbia, Saudi Arabia, Ukraine and Singapore Taiwan, South Korea and the United States.

However, the Department of State, along with the Department of Health and Welfare Services, continues to update its list weekly, ranking other countries based on their COVID-19 status.

“If the infection level in a country increases above a certain level, the government will once again be able to join the Foreign Ministry’s Travel Board,” the statement explained.

According to figures provided by the World Health Organization (WHO), Norway has recorded a total of 139,214 cases of COVID-19 and 804 deaths since the start of the pandemic. Moreover, the same source reveals that Norway has reported 476 new cases in the past 24 hours.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No