Schengen Visa News

Norway Extends Advice Against Non-Essential Travel for Another 2 Months

Travel for non-essential purposes to all countries except for the European Union, Switzerland and the United Kingdom is strongly discouraged as the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs has extended its travel advice until 1 October.

In addition to the European Union, Switzerland and the United Kingdom, on July 5, the National Institute of Public Health (NIPH) recommended the lifting of travel bans for several third countries, which, according to the institution, are considered low risk for the spread of infection, reports.

The third countries ranked in Norway’s purple list include:

Australia New Zealand Saudi Arabia Singapore Taiwan

Furthermore, the third countries in the list below have been excluded from the travel advice, even though they do not meet the requirements of the NIPH:

Albania Azerbaijan Bosnia and Herzegovina Canada Israel Japan Kosovo Moldova Montenegro North Macedonia Qatar Serbia South Korea Ukraine United States

In a press release issued by the Norwegian authorities, Foreign Minister In Eriksen Soered said that due to the epidemiological situation, travel advice must remain effective.

>> Travel to Norway: current rules and restrictions

We are still in an abnormal situation. Changes in both the spread of infection and local restrictions are changing rapidly and making the situation unpredictable. “It is still unjustified to rescind the global travel advice at present,” Minister Soured said.

The country decided to gradually lift travel restrictions by rescinding travel advice to the European Union, the Schengen area and the United Kingdom on August 5.

Furthermore, data from the World Health Organization reveals that Norway has not reported any deaths related to the coronavirus in the past 24 hours. However, 357 people have tested positive for the virus. Since the pandemic began, about 814 people have lost their lives due to COVID-19 and 153,528 have fallen ill.

Regarding the vaccination campaign, the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) reveals that about 56.6 percent of Norwegians have received the full vaccination, while 87 percent have only received the first vaccination.

Recently, Norwegian authorities extended the validity of local recovery certificates from six to 12 months, allowing travelers with the virus to be exempt from quarantine requirements.

The country has successfully contacted the EU DCC, the European digital passport for COVID-19 vaccination, which is issued to all citizens who have been fully vaccinated against COVID-10 or have recovered from the virus at least 180 days prior to travel. The document was created in an effort to facilitate safe travel through Europe amid the pandemic.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No