Europe Travel News

Norway Becomes the 10th EU/Schengen Country to Accept Sinovac as Valid Proof of Immunity for Entry

Norway has become the tenth country among the European Union and Schengen area to recognize the Sinovac vaccine as a valid proof of immunity, which means that all who have been vaccinated with the vaccine will not be subject to the entry rules.

According to an October 5 press release by the Norwegian Ministry of Health and Welfare Services, all travelers who have been vaccinated with Sinovac, which is part of the World Health Organization (WHO) emergency use list, will receive the same relief. From the requirement of self-isolation such as those who have been vaccinated with one of the vaccines already recognized by the state authorities.

Thus, this means that all vaccination certificates showing that the holder has been immunized against COVID-19 with Sinovac are now equivalent to those showing evidence of vaccination with one of the European Medicines Agency’s approved stab wounds, reports.

However, the authorities stressed that a vaccination certificate indicating a complete vaccination with Sinovac must include a QR, allowing them to verify the document based on EU rules.

“It is a basic requirement that travelers have a corona certificate that can be verified using a QR code in accordance with the European Union solution to corona certificates,” the ministry statement said.

In addition, except for exemption from quarantine rules, travelers who have been vaccinated with Sinovac, as well as those who have recovered from the virus within the past six months, can enter Norwegian territory without having to fill out an entry form.

Similar to Norway, nine other EU/Schengen area countries also recognize Sinovac as valid proof of immunity. Based on data provided by the Vaccine Screening Tool developed by VisaGuide.World, which enables travelers around the world to validate their vaccine, the following countries learn about Sinovac:

Austria Cyprus Finland Greece Iceland Netherlands Spain Sweden Switzerland

Apart from the above countries, five other countries located on the European continent accept the Sinovac vaccine:

Albania Armenia Georgia Macedonia Serbia

Moreover, with the exception of the Sinovac vaccine that was recently added to the list of recognized vaccines, Norway already allows unrestricted entry to all those vaccinated with an EMA approved vaccine – AstraZeneca, Pfizer/BioNTech, Moderna and Janssen.

Earlier, when vaccination certificates began to operate at full capacity, the Norwegian authorities confirmed that more than a week had to have passed since a person’s last dose was taken to be considered fully immunized.

As for the validity of the certificate, it was noted that its technical validity is limited to a maximum of 90 days.

Previously, reported that Norway now also recognizes the Indian-made Kofishield vaccine.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No