Europe Travel News

Norway Bans Non-Essential Travel From Australia

Australians who had so far been eligible to enter Norway for non-essential purposes amid COVID-19 will not be eligible to do so because Norwegian authorities have removed the country from the list of purple countries.

The list of purple countries consists of third countries included in the European Union’s list of epidemiologically safe third countries, which have lower infection rates, and which enable travelers from these countries to enter Norway for more purposes than those listed as essential.

Grandparents, friends, and others from these countries are exempt from the entry ban. You must apply for pre-approval to enter girlfriends when the color of the country of departure is purple, and the entry permit can only be used when the color of the country is purple,” the Norwegian Ministry of Health and Welfare Services notes in a press release.

It also indicates that Australia is no longer classified as a purple country due to the recent increase in the number of cases detected on Australian soil.

Thus, as of Monday, September 20, the only countries in the purple list are New Zealand, Singapore, Taiwan, and Saudi Arabia.

At the same time, the ministry notes that changes will be made from Monday regarding arrivals from several EU member states. Travelers from Slovenia are now subject to isolation in quarantine hotels, while arrivals from the Faroe Islands, as well as the regions of Central Finland, Ostrobothnia SVD and Lapland SVD.

The only countries still green, from which travelers are not subject to entry requirements, other than the obligation to complete a CVODID-19 form and test upon arrival:

Hungary Poland Czech Republic, Norrbotten Swedish Region Länsi-Pohja SVD, Öland, Central Finland SVD, Satakunda SVD and North Karelia SVD.

On the other hand, the Orange category currently consists of Italy, San Marino, Vatican City, Luxembourg, Malta, Faroe Islands and Slovakia.

The following northern regions are also orange:

Regions of Sweden, Södermanland, Uppsala, Blekinge, Dalarna, Västernorland, Kronoberg, Gävleburg, Jonkoping, Halland, Gämtland, Örebro, Värmland, Västerbotten, Västmanland and Kalmar, the Danish regions of New Zealand, southern Denmark and the central Gothens regions of Finland, Södra Central Savolax SVD Hämeenlinna SVD, Norra Österbottens SVD, Norra Savolax SVD, Päijat-Häme SVD, Syd-Österbottens SVD, Östra Savolax SVD, Birkalands SVD, Södra Karelens FinD SVD.

Travelers from orange countries and regions must have a negative test certificate before entry, fill out an entry form, test themselves at the border upon arrival, and must be quarantined to enter.

The same rules apply to people who are eligible to enter from red countries. Currently, the country red list consists of all countries not listed in green, orange, purple, or dark red. The dark red list consists of Slovenia, Great Britain, the South Aegean Islands (Greece) and the Ionian Islands (Greece).

According to the World Health Organization, Norway recorded 981 new cases of Covid-19 during the past 24 hours and there were no deaths, bringing the total number of cases recorded since the beginning of the epidemic to 180,427 cases, while the number of deaths remained at 841. The country’s population is 5.328 million people.

Data from the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control shows that 92.4% of the adult population in Norway has received at least the first dose of the COVID-19 vaccine, while 81.6% have already been fully vaccinated.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No