Schengen Visa News

Member States Have Issued Over 1.7 Billion EU Digital COVID Certificates Since June 2021

EU member states have issued more than 1.7 billion EU digital COVID-19 certificates to their citizens since they began issuing the certificate at the beginning of June 2021.

The achievement was announced by the EU Commissioner for Justice, Didier Reynders, in a Commission press release, announcing the adoption of the impact of the EU’s digital COVID certification and its implementation across the EU on Tuesday, 15 March.

Over 1.7 billion certificates have been issued to date. The EU Digital COVID Certificate has proven to be a reliable and easy-to-use tool, allowing citizens to travel during the COVID-19 pandemic.”

He also called on member states, which still impose strict entry restrictions, to remove them and facilitate freedom of movement between member states.

“As the situation evolves, UNHCR is working to ensure a speedy return to unrestricted freedom of movement. We urge Member States to lift the last remaining travel restrictions – particularly where domestic measures are also being lifted.

>> EU Commission urges member states to lift remaining travel restrictions

Previously, on March 11, reported that the Council of the European Union had agreed to extend the use of the EU’s COVID digital certificate for another year, until the end of June 2023.

At the same time, several changes were approved to be implemented on the certificate in an effort by the authorities to better adjust the use of the document with the evolving situation of the coronavirus in the block and around the world.

The changes are as follows:

It is now possible to include all doses on the vaccination certificate, regardless of the country in which they were given, travelers are now entitled to certificates of recovery if they take an antigen test with positive results for COVID-19, which has not yet been allowed Certification by February 1, 2023

The EU’s digital COVID certificate has been in use since mid-2021, and has enabled those vaccinated against COVID-19, those recovering from the virus, as well as those who tested negative, to travel more freely from one member state to another.

Apart from the certificates issued by the European Union and the member states of the Schengen area, through the EU digital COVID certification portal, the European Union recognizes certificates from more than 30 other countries in the world. The full list of countries connected to this system is as follows:

27 EU Member States Albania Andorra Armenia Benin Cabo Verde El Salvador Faroe Islands Georgia Israel Iceland Jordan Lebanon Liechtenstein Moldova Monaco Montenegro Morocco New Zealand Northern Macedonia Norway Panama San Marino Serbia Singapore Switzerland Taiwan Thailand Tunisia Togo Turkey Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom and Crown Dependencies ( Jersey, Guernsey and Isle of Man) Uruguay Vatican

>> The EU accepts COVID-19 certificates from two additional countries as equivalent to the EU COVID digital certificate

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No