Europe Travel News

Malta Now Permits Entry to Travellers Jabbed With WHO-Approved Vaccines Followed by EMA-Accepted Booster Shot

Maltese authorities have announced that travelers who have been fully immunized against COVID-19 with one of the vaccines approved for use by the World Health Organization (WHO) can now enter the country without being subject to additional entry rules.

However, in order to do so, it has been emphasized that travelers must prove they have taken a booster dose of one of the vaccines approved by the European Medicines Agency (EMA) – AstraZeneca, Pfizer/BioNTech, Moderna, Janssen and reports.

In this regard, the Government of Malta noted that recognized certifications include “a recognized vaccine certification with a booster dose of an EMA-approved vaccine following an initial full schedule with a WHO-approved vaccine”.

This means that all those who have completed vaccination in one of the three countries with a WHO-approved injection but not the EMA – Kovishield, Sinopharm, Sinovac, Covaccin – can now enter Malta without being required to follow the 14-day quarantine requirement as long as They were given one of the booster shots mentioned above.

Malta currently has a classification of countries in the red and dark red lists, which means that different entry rules apply depending on the country in which travelers arrive in Malta.

Travelers arriving in Malta from one of the third countries listed in its Red List are required to submit a completed General Health Travel Authorization and Passenger Locator Form, along with a vaccination certificate and an EMA booster snapshot.

However, since Malta is one of the European countries that keeps some strict restrictions in place, it is highly recommended that everyone check if the vaccination certificate is recognized for entry.

With the exception of the EU Digital COVID-19 Certificate issued by EU countries and countries that have been officially linked to the EUDCC portal, Malta recognizes vaccination certificates issued by several third countries, which include Albania, Egypt, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bermuda, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Iraq, Gibraltar, Japan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Malaysia, Moldova, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom and United States.

Vaccination certificates issued in third countries other than those mentioned above are not recognized in Malta.

On the other hand, travelers from third countries included in Malta’s dark red list are not allowed to enter the territory of the latter, regardless of their vaccination status. Only people who fall on the exemption list can travel to Malta from countries on the dark red list.

Malta currently has the highest vaccination rate within the European Union. Based on figures from the European Center for Disease and Prevention, 91.7 percent of the country’s total adult population has been fully vaccinated so far.

Previously, the Maltese authorities decided to extend the entry ban for unvaccinated travelers from the EU/Schengen area and 67 other countries.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Schengen Visa

Schengen Visa Europe Visa Information

Related Articles

Back to top button
Enable Notifications    OK No