Schengen Visa News

Luxembourg Extends Current Entry Restrictions Until End of June

Third-country nationals will still be unable to travel to Luxembourg for non-essential reasons as the country announced the extension of existing restrictions until June 30.

According to a press release from the country’s official website, the entry restrictions will not apply to Ukrainian citizens, who are allowed in Luxembourg without being subject to restrictions, provided they have fled their homeland due to the war, reports.

Furthermore, the government warns that the vaccination certificates for Benin and Jordan will be recognized as valid for entry.

“Furthermore, based on an amendment to Council (EU) Recommendation 2020/912 on the temporary restriction on non-essential travel to the European Union and the possible lifting of such a restriction, Luxembourg will now also allow third-country nationals with a certificate to enter the territory of the Grand Duchy, including: That non-essential travel,” the authority reveals while emphasizing that acceptable take-back certificates include those issued by health authorities in EU member states and many third countries.

In addition, residents of the following countries can enter Luxembourg, even for non-essential travel:

Chile, China, Colombia, South Korea, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, United Arab Emirates, Indonesia, Kuwait, Peru, Rwanda, New Zealand, Qatar, Ukraine, Uruguay, Hong Kong and Macau.

Furthermore, vaccination certificates issued by the health authorities of the following countries are recognized as valid for entry by the Luxembourg Government:

Albania Andorra Armenia Benin Brazil Cabo Verde Canada South Korea United Arab Emirates El Salvador USA Georgia Faroe Islands India Israel Japan Jordan Lebanon Morocco Moldova Monaco Montenegro New Zealand Panama North Macedonia United Kingdom San Marino Serbia Singapore Thailand Togo Tunisia Turkey Ukraine Uruguay Vatican Taiwan

However, not all Certificates of Return issued by these countries are valid for entry into Luxembourg. The following countries represent valid government-issued redemption certificates:

Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Panama, Republic of North Macedonia, Albania, Andorra, United Kingdom, San Marino, Armenia, Benin, Cabo Verde, El Salvador, Georgia, Israel, Serbia, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine and Uruguay.

According to data published by the World Health Organization (WHO), Luxembourg has recorded a total of 185,707 cases of COVID-19 and 995 deaths since March, which marks the beginning of the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic. In addition, the same source reveals that in the past seven days, 4,512 people have tested positive for coronavirus, while seven people have died.

The average uptake of the vaccination is 73.1 percent of the entire adult population while 55.9 percent have received booster doses, reveals the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC).

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No