Schengen Visa News

Lithuania Lifts Quarantine Requirement for EU & EEA Travellers Who Have Taken Booster Shot

Authorities in Lithuania have announced that foreigners who have completed the virus immunization process within 270 days and have not taken a booster dose will not be excluded from the mandatory self-isolation rules upon arrival in Lithuania.

This decision, confirmed by the Lithuanian Ministry of Health, will become effective on February 5, reports.

In addition, according to the announcement of the same ministry, in the list of countries considered highly affected by the Corona virus, known as the red list, the countries of the European Union and the European Economic Area (EEA) are no longer, after that they moved to the yellow list, which consists of countries of medium risk in terms of Covid-19 case.

This decision means that travelers from European Economic Area countries will no longer be required to remain isolated upon arrival in Lithuania if they meet the above criteria.

In addition, the authorities in Lithuania also announced that the Novaxovid and Kokoshield vaccines will be recognized as valid evidence of immunity to the virus.

“Once a new vaccine against COVID-19 Nuvaxovid is registered in the European Union, vaccinated people will also be exempted from testing and isolation. Upon arrival in Lithuania, the CoviShield vaccine made in India under the license of the pharmaceutical company AstraZeneca will also be recognized.”

Authorities in Lithuania have stressed that in order to harmonize the travel requirements of citizens of EU countries, the requirement to submit a negative test result will be abolished if travelers meet the requirements for an EU COVID digital certificate.

“Testing will not be required for individuals who have relapsed from COVID-19 within the 180-day period of PCR or who have been fully vaccinated within 270 days (270 days does not apply to individuals under 18 years of age) or have received a booster dose of the vaccine. Individuals who do not meet these criteria will be required to complete a COVID-19 test,” the statement published by the Ministry of Health.

The Lithuanian government has confirmed that from tomorrow, all EU and EEA countries will belong to the yellow list, which means that quarantine requirements will not be applied to people who follow the new rules.

As for people coming from countries outside the European Union and the European Economic Area, the red and gray list will remain effective, which means that countries will be classified into specific categories, taking into account the epidemiological situation in them.

Schengen Visa

Schengen Countries

Schengen Agreement

Schengen News


Enable Notifications    OK No